Garlic Shrimp Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
A lot of people said there was "something missing" here, and I had a few ideas as to what that might be. For one thing, all the shrimp flavor is getting boiled or soaked out in water! Here's what I did: put the shrimp, tails off, in a shallow pan and season with some lemon juice and black pepper while you do the rest (boil pasta water, mince garlic, etc.). When the pasta goes into the water, add the shrimp to a hot skillet with olive oil and butter. Cook it til pink, turning -- add the minced garlic when you're about two minutes away from done. Then drain the pasta and THEN combine THAT garlic-infused butter and oil and shrimp with the pasta, top with FRESH parsley, black pepper and cheese (and a hint of cayenne, if you want).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
686 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
I've been making something like this for years now. Like many of the other reviewers, I follow the basic recipe, but do things a bit differently. I sautee my shrimp with butter, olive oil and garlic. I season with a bit of fresh ground pepper and oregano. I use angel hair pasta. After it's cooked and drained, I add it to the saute pan for a minute or two, then put it all on a plate and sprinkle with shredded parmesan. It's a quick, light meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
292 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
I have not cooked this particular recipe, but I would definitely change a few things based on reading it. First of all use extra vigin olive oil instead of vegetable oil. I would sautee the shrip in olive oil, butter and a few cloves of fresh garlic. Garnish with some fresh basil and freshly grated parmesean cheese. You could also add some fresh peeled/seeded plum tomaotes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simmig
Reviewed: May 20, 2007
Simple but not sure why some of the steps are in there? Like many others I did the following. 1. Pasta and strain 2. Saute the garlic, butter and shrimp in a pan. 3. Season with salt, pepper, dash of cayenne, onion powder, parsley, orageno. 3. Toss in pasta. 4. Serve. No leftovers and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
I think this is a very easy dish, and the flavor suggests otherwise. But I did put my own spin on it. I sauteed the garlic in a pan in butter, then added the shrimp and sauteed, then the pasta.. with a little bit of salt and cheese.. easy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin O

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I made a lot of modifications and it turned out great. I sauteed the garlic in olive oil and butter. Then I added the shrimp, 2 tomatoes, about 1 tsp of lemon juice, dash of pepper, dash of cayenne pepper, onion powder and about a tsp of tarragon. Served with the parmesan cheese. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
A delicious quick and easy shrimp and pasta dinner! I made this as a surprise for my boyfriend - a huge shrimp fan - on a night he had to work late. I used half the amounts of pasta and shrimp but the same amount of garlic sauce ingredients. Also, as a response to a couple reviewers who sensed something was missing, I added a spoonful (probably a teaspoon each) of pesto sauce and parsely flakes, which added a wonderful subtle flavor. Delicious!! A wonderful quick recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I read the reviews and adjusted the recipe. I used approximately 2 tbsp of olive oil, and 2 tbs of butter. I sauteed the garlic (fresh) until it started to brown just a bit. Next, I added the shrimp and cooked it until pink. I then added broccoli cuts, parsley, salt, pepper. I finished it off with adding the cooked vermicelli. After placing a serving on a plate I garnished with fresh shredded Parmesan cheese. It was delicious and my husband loved it. It was very light yet filling. I will be making this again especially when time is an issue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
I agree with many other reviewers...something is missing. You do need to add something to spice it up. I also grilled the shrimp instead of boiling for better flavor. It's a good basic recipe, but needs tweaking. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
Not totally unredeemable but this recipe needs some work! After reading the reviews we decided to marinate some shrimp and grill it instead of boiling it. Then we converted the recipe for 12 servings for the pasta and followed the directions. The pasta was D-R-Y and absolutely flavorless! We added a bit more butter and then added almost a whole can of chicken broth to moisten the pasta and started throwing in lemon pepper seasoning and Tony Chachere's seasoning until it started tasting better. The dinner ended up tasting very good but it was more through luck than from this recipe. I already had a recipe for lemon basil pasta and unfortunately this will not be the one to replace it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAVLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States