Garlic Scape Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This is incredibly easy and so delicious. Great as a dip. Though I can't wait to serve it on grilled pork loin chops. So fresh tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Like others I was looking for a recipe to use garlic scapes from our summer CSA. This was a real hit with my two year old and I. My husband felt it was a little bland (what?). I did cut the flower tops off the scapes and only used the greens. I followed the recipe as stated. I served over penne pasta and cut up chicken breast. Seemed to yield about three cups. I only used one with one pound of pasta. I divided the remaining pesto into one cup servings and froze. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I deliberately didn't read the reviews until I had made it exactly as the recipe dictates. WOW! Now I might experiment, but the original recipe is just great~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salmon Arm, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ELLENBOLL
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Delicious! I would grow garlic just for the scapes! Like others, I added walnuts. I freeze in 4 ounce containers to eat in the winter. I searched all the local farm markets for scapes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELLENBOLL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Garlic lovers, this is the recipe for you! Follow it exactly as it is written. We have always made the traditional pesto with basil, parsley and pinenuts; we won't be making that anymore. This recipe far surpasses any pesto we have ever had. We had enough scapes to make 2 1/2 batches and all are tucked away in the freezer where many will be given as Christmas gifts. We used fresh lemon juice as some people are allergic to sulfites that are contained in bottled juice; and a lovely black Malabar pepper. Thanks to whomever came up with this recipe. June 2014; a year later. Just cut the scapes and starting this pesto. I froze what we didnt use last summer in cute little jars and gave them as Christmas presents and birthday gifts throughout the year. Everyone has requested that they be repeated this year. Guess we will have to grow more garlic to satisfy everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
It has a different texture than basil pesto but the flavor was good. I added chopped walnuts. Did'nt have pinenuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orono, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I LOVE garlic scape pesto. So much, that this is my first reveiw! I made this recipe, though I was not exact about the measurements, as I just used all the garlic scapes I had. I don't think you can go wrong--but it's spicy, in the garlicky way! If it's to spicy for you, you can blanch the garlic scapes first. Also, this keeps in the freezer. I put it in 8 oz canning jars, filled 1/2 from top and freeze...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This pesto is amazing as a base for a veggie pizza, in a grilled cheese, as a dip for bread, added to hummus....pretty much anything I've tried it on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I loved this recipe!! I ended up adding about 1/4 cup of walnuts and a little more oil and cheese. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sprouts!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Incredible pesto--I made several large batches and froze them--they thaw just beautifully. GREAT for having with pasta dishes or just spread on fresh, warm bread in the winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenDiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Arugula Pesto

See how to make pesto with peppery, full-flavored arugula instead of basil.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States