Garlic Scape Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Very Very garlicky, added sum dried tomatoes. Heard you can blanch the scapes for a less garlicky taste. Freezes well.Yes, blanching decreases that strong garlic flavor, also add some basil , roasted almonds and parmesan (lufa recipe) yum, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I loved this recipe!! I ended up adding about 1/4 cup of walnuts and a little more oil and cheese. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sprouts!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ELLENBOLL
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Delicious! I would grow garlic just for the scapes! Like others, I added walnuts. I freeze in 4 ounce containers to eat in the winter. I searched all the local farm markets for scapes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELLENBOLL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This is incredibly easy and so delicious. Great as a dip. Though I can't wait to serve it on grilled pork loin chops. So fresh tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mam5016
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This was very good and a very easy way to use up the garlic scapes from my CSA. I added sunflower seeds b/c I like the pine nuts in my usual basil pesto and wanted something similar in this. It came out delicious, was easy to make, and went very well over whole wheat pasta with some turkey meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Incredible pesto--I made several large batches and froze them--they thaw just beautifully. GREAT for having with pasta dishes or just spread on fresh, warm bread in the winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenDiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I LOVE garlic scape pesto. So much, that this is my first reveiw! I made this recipe, though I was not exact about the measurements, as I just used all the garlic scapes I had. I don't think you can go wrong--but it's spicy, in the garlicky way! If it's to spicy for you, you can blanch the garlic scapes first. Also, this keeps in the freezer. I put it in 8 oz canning jars, filled 1/2 from top and freeze...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I agree that it has a different texture than basil pesto. It was good on pasta and I also mixed a little into some chicken salad. It kept covered in the fridge for several days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
It has a different texture than basil pesto but the flavor was good. I added chopped walnuts. Did'nt have pinenuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orono, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Arugula Pesto

See how to make pesto with peppery, full-flavored arugula instead of basil.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States