Garlic Scape Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
I made this garlic scape pesto the first time exactly as described (delicious, but lots of garlic) and so the second time I blanched the garlic scapes before adding them and I love it even more! Blanching seems to cut the harshness of the garlic just enough and it makes the pesto texture resemble a more traditional basil pesto. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
What no pine nuts?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura Hogan
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
Excellent and simple recipe. I had about half the amount of garlic scapes so I reduced the recipe such. Came out perfectly. Now I want to put it on everything even though it'll give you some garlic breath. :-). This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hogan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
Great recipe, make a great dip by mixing this with cream cheese - lovely color, and the cream cheese cuts a bit of the intensity of the garlic. Yummy on pita chips, veggies, spread on crusty warm bread - pretty much anything savory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
Not a fan of the spread or substitute for pesto BUT garlic scape is what sends my salad dressing recipe over the edge. Olive oil,balsamic,salt,soy sauce,grey poupon,Ts yogurt and Ts garlic scape.......enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Payne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
No changes. Great on grilled Halibut, or really, on anything
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
It's very good but I would suggest the following: Make half the recipe to start. The sharpness of garlic scapes is not for everyone. Add 1/2 cup walnuts to the full recipe, 1/4 to half recipe. This will help mellow the sharpness. If you have ample scapes, use just the most tender parts of the garlic scape from the tip to just below the flower bud. Cut the scapes into 1/2 inch pieces; the scapes are very stringy and will otherwise get caught in the processor blades. Add cut scapes to the processor gradually rather than all at once. That said, the recipe worked for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
Super Easy. Tasty and flexible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Stelling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Fantastic. Completely subbed as a lower fat, much more flavor substitute for mayo on sandwiches. Great with pasta. I only wish I had made more than a pint. Next season, I will definitely make much more and freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I loved this! We spread it on bagel chips and topped it with smoked salmon. It was a hit at the party we went to, and I'll make it again for sure! The scapes need to be chopped finely before being put into the food processor. I cut them into 2" pieces, but should have chopped them much more. I added the juice of a whole lemon. To make the pesto more smooth I ended up scraping the batch into my blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Birthrightrose

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Almond Arugula Pesto

See how to make pesto with peppery, full-flavored arugula instead of basil.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States