Garlic Scape Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Fantastic. Completely subbed as a lower fat, much more flavor substitute for mayo on sandwiches. Great with pasta. I only wish I had made more than a pint. Next season, I will definitely make much more and freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I loved this! We spread it on bagel chips and topped it with smoked salmon. It was a hit at the party we went to, and I'll make it again for sure! The scapes need to be chopped finely before being put into the food processor. I cut them into 2" pieces, but should have chopped them much more. I added the juice of a whole lemon. To make the pesto more smooth I ended up scraping the batch into my blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Birthrightrose

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
The texture was chunky, which I expected and could have dealt with had the flavor been worth a hoot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I have to admit, this recipe wasn't my favorite. I had never used garlic scapes before, and I doubt I will again. Scapes are quite tough and the resulting purée remained slightly chunky, even with additional olive oil. I served the pesto over spaghetti and had to eat some of it on toasted baguette to cut the intensity. It's REALLY garlicky and super strong. I think it might be good if you turned it into a cream sauce or added it to other dishes as a garlic replacement, but as a straight-up pesto, I'm not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lachine, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
This was delicious and easy. I left out the lemon juice and took someone else's idea and added sundried tomatoes. Great use of the scapes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Like others I was looking for a recipe to use garlic scapes from our summer CSA. This was a real hit with my two year old and I. My husband felt it was a little bland (what?). I did cut the flower tops off the scapes and only used the greens. I followed the recipe as stated. I served over penne pasta and cut up chicken breast. Seemed to yield about three cups. I only used one with one pound of pasta. I divided the remaining pesto into one cup servings and froze. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This pesto is amazing as a base for a veggie pizza, in a grilled cheese, as a dip for bread, added to hummus....pretty much anything I've tried it on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Garlic lovers, this is the recipe for you! Follow it exactly as it is written. We have always made the traditional pesto with basil, parsley and pinenuts; we won't be making that anymore. This recipe far surpasses any pesto we have ever had. We had enough scapes to make 2 1/2 batches and all are tucked away in the freezer where many will be given as Christmas gifts. We used fresh lemon juice as some people are allergic to sulfites that are contained in bottled juice; and a lovely black Malabar pepper. Thanks to whomever came up with this recipe. June 2014; a year later. Just cut the scapes and starting this pesto. I froze what we didnt use last summer in cute little jars and gave them as Christmas presents and birthday gifts throughout the year. Everyone has requested that they be repeated this year. Guess we will have to grow more garlic to satisfy everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I deliberately didn't read the reviews until I had made it exactly as the recipe dictates. WOW! Now I might experiment, but the original recipe is just great~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salmon Arm, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I hate to be a party pooper, but I just did not care for this. I LOVE basil pesto, and I doctored the garlic scapes up the same way with pine nuts, and added some cream to take some of the "bite" out of the scapes, but the texture, taste, and look of it was unappealing to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Almond Arugula Pesto

See how to make pesto with peppery, full-flavored arugula instead of basil.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States