Garlic Sauteed Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2002
We love artichokes!! This recipe is one of the easiest and is delicious. I've served it twice and both times we've loved it. My husband likes it because the choke is gone and it makes eating the artichoke easier. The second time I steamed the artichokes about 45-50 minutes and we liked the texture better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2002
I tried this recipe, and loved it. I thought scraping out the raw choke would be much more difficult, but I used a melon-baller,and it came right out. My daughter loved not having to deal with it while eating her artichoke. The toasty garlic flavor was great too! I will never make artichokes any other way now. WOW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by your mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Tukwila, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
This was outstanding!! My husband and I love artichokes and really enjoyed the garlic flavor. I replaced half the water with lemon juice although white wine or chicken broth might enhance the flavor also. Thanks for a great one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
Very good and different way to make artichokes! I did, however, use 6 large cloves of garlic since we are garlic lovers. I also added 3 Tablespoons of Chicken Broth in the last 5 minutes of steaming because I have a very powerful stovetop and needed more liquid. Thanks for the recipe John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2002
Wow! I love artichokes and always just boiled them before. Had fun getting the choke out, but I think I have a method now. I doubled the butter and garlic the second time I made it and doubled the water for steaming. I also doubled the steam time, found it was much more tender that way. I always dip my artichoke in a simple butter and lemon mix. The garlic was a wonderful addition to the flavor! And this week, artichokes are on sale. My boyfriend doesn't care for artichokes, so I just make this recipe with two artichokes as my complete dinner! Yum, yum, yum! A definite keeper! I can't wait to visit my folks and cook it for them this way! Thanks for the recipe. I'll also try some of the other suggestions folks have made so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2002
This is great! We have always flavored the butter in which we dip the steamed artichoke - it is much easier and tastier to cook the artichoke with the flavoring! Instead of cutting artichoke in half, also try pouring the sauted butter and garlic over the whole artichoke before cooking in a pressure cooker, and eating leaf by leaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
YUM! Very easy and delicious! I served with a pesto mayo and my guests loved it. I added a little sea salt to zing it up just a bit. Excellent first course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
This recipe was absolutely delicious!! I have always added garlic to the water when steaming artichokes, but this recipe now takes top billing in my kitchen! Having lived in the Garlic Capital of the World, I automatically doubled the garlic in this recipe. I received great reviews all during dinner, from all ages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
I used this recipe to introduce artichokes to my family...they are now all fans of artichokes! I did steam them for 45 minutes and because we are fans of garlic I used the amount stated in the recipe. This one is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willis, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
These were wonderful. I added more garlic and a little bred crumbs at the end to kind of thicken the butter, my eldest son (7yrs old) ate about 1/2 of mine. I used only one artichoke to try it with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Sautéed Garlic Asparagus

This simple method really highlights the flavor of the asparagus.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States