Garlic Sauteed Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2002
This is great! We have always flavored the butter in which we dip the steamed artichoke - it is much easier and tastier to cook the artichoke with the flavoring! Instead of cutting artichoke in half, also try pouring the sauted butter and garlic over the whole artichoke before cooking in a pressure cooker, and eating leaf by leaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
YUM! Very easy and delicious! I served with a pesto mayo and my guests loved it. I added a little sea salt to zing it up just a bit. Excellent first course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
This recipe was absolutely delicious!! I have always added garlic to the water when steaming artichokes, but this recipe now takes top billing in my kitchen! Having lived in the Garlic Capital of the World, I automatically doubled the garlic in this recipe. I received great reviews all during dinner, from all ages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
This was outstanding!! My husband and I love artichokes and really enjoyed the garlic flavor. I replaced half the water with lemon juice although white wine or chicken broth might enhance the flavor also. Thanks for a great one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2002
We love artichokes!! This recipe is one of the easiest and is delicious. I've served it twice and both times we've loved it. My husband likes it because the choke is gone and it makes eating the artichoke easier. The second time I steamed the artichokes about 45-50 minutes and we liked the texture better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2002
Wow! I love artichokes and always just boiled them before. Had fun getting the choke out, but I think I have a method now. I doubled the butter and garlic the second time I made it and doubled the water for steaming. I also doubled the steam time, found it was much more tender that way. I always dip my artichoke in a simple butter and lemon mix. The garlic was a wonderful addition to the flavor! And this week, artichokes are on sale. My boyfriend doesn't care for artichokes, so I just make this recipe with two artichokes as my complete dinner! Yum, yum, yum! A definite keeper! I can't wait to visit my folks and cook it for them this way! Thanks for the recipe. I'll also try some of the other suggestions folks have made so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2002
I tried this recipe, and loved it. I thought scraping out the raw choke would be much more difficult, but I used a melon-baller,and it came right out. My daughter loved not having to deal with it while eating her artichoke. The toasty garlic flavor was great too! I will never make artichokes any other way now. WOW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by your mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Tukwila, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2002
This is great if you really like garlic. I made it twice and the first time I used too much garlic. The second time I eased up a bit and I Really enjoyed it. I love that you cut the fuzzy stuff out of the middle before you sit down to eat! So much less maintainance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
What a great way to prepare artichokes. I will use this method from now on. However I was not at all happy with the garlic. It made the artichokes very bitter. Luckily I had a lemon in my fridge so I squeezed the juice all over the cut side and that made them fantastic!!! The juice went right into it. Next time I will eliminate the garlic completely and use the lemon juice to flavor them before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
I decided that I would do the opposite to try to recreate a dish I had at an Italian resturant. I steamed the artichokes first than I sauteed them. Yummy! Buttery and garlicky they were tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Sautéed Garlic Asparagus

This simple method really highlights the flavor of the asparagus.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States