Garlic Sauteed Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
Very good and different way to make artichokes! I did, however, use 6 large cloves of garlic since we are garlic lovers. I also added 3 Tablespoons of Chicken Broth in the last 5 minutes of steaming because I have a very powerful stovetop and needed more liquid. Thanks for the recipe John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
I don't know what I did wrong but these turned out horrible. They were very bitter and did not have much flavor to them. I was really excited to try this one too b/c of the rave reviews :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
I used this recipe to introduce artichokes to my family...they are now all fans of artichokes! I did steam them for 45 minutes and because we are fans of garlic I used the amount stated in the recipe. This one is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willis, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
I decided that I would do the opposite to try to recreate a dish I had at an Italian resturant. I steamed the artichokes first than I sauteed them. Yummy! Buttery and garlicky they were tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
What a great way to prepare artichokes. I will use this method from now on. However I was not at all happy with the garlic. It made the artichokes very bitter. Luckily I had a lemon in my fridge so I squeezed the juice all over the cut side and that made them fantastic!!! The juice went right into it. Next time I will eliminate the garlic completely and use the lemon juice to flavor them before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2002
This is great if you really like garlic. I made it twice and the first time I used too much garlic. The second time I eased up a bit and I Really enjoyed it. I love that you cut the fuzzy stuff out of the middle before you sit down to eat! So much less maintainance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2002
I tried this recipe, and loved it. I thought scraping out the raw choke would be much more difficult, but I used a melon-baller,and it came right out. My daughter loved not having to deal with it while eating her artichoke. The toasty garlic flavor was great too! I will never make artichokes any other way now. WOW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by your mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Tukwila, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2002
Wow! I love artichokes and always just boiled them before. Had fun getting the choke out, but I think I have a method now. I doubled the butter and garlic the second time I made it and doubled the water for steaming. I also doubled the steam time, found it was much more tender that way. I always dip my artichoke in a simple butter and lemon mix. The garlic was a wonderful addition to the flavor! And this week, artichokes are on sale. My boyfriend doesn't care for artichokes, so I just make this recipe with two artichokes as my complete dinner! Yum, yum, yum! A definite keeper! I can't wait to visit my folks and cook it for them this way! Thanks for the recipe. I'll also try some of the other suggestions folks have made so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2002
We love artichokes!! This recipe is one of the easiest and is delicious. I've served it twice and both times we've loved it. My husband likes it because the choke is gone and it makes eating the artichoke easier. The second time I steamed the artichokes about 45-50 minutes and we liked the texture better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
This was outstanding!! My husband and I love artichokes and really enjoyed the garlic flavor. I replaced half the water with lemon juice although white wine or chicken broth might enhance the flavor also. Thanks for a great one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Sautéed Garlic Asparagus

This simple method really highlights the flavor of the asparagus.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States