Garlic Sauteed Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
I steamed them first for about 30 minutes, then sauteed them, then removed the choke. These were pretty good. Next time I will make my herbed butter to dip the stems in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Atascocita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This was great. I used someone's advice and microwaved first til done and then sauteed. Served with melted garlic butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
This is me, Jjdon - my recipe. I've done this a couple of times now, but I'll do it again so it comes up on top. Allrecipes edits the recipes they get and in this case they didn't necessarily do it well. People talk about cooking times and liquid - that all depends on the size of your artichokes. We like them about fist sized, which can cook in 20 minutes or so, cut in half. You need to think about the size, and you need to watch the time and liquid - this is actually almost braising. Often I will add liquid part way through. You can walk away but you can't walk away and forget it, either. If you pay attention and watch how they are going this is hard to ruin. Yes, I can see monster chokes taking 40 minutes and a fair amount of liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
I didn't want my garlic to turn bitter w/ the long cook time so I sliced it, sauteed it for a couple of minutes to infuse the oil & removed it from the pan before adding the artichoke. I normally would have chosen to steam it w/ wine nstead of water but I was serving this w/ a tilapia in white wine sauce & didn't want my flavors to be redundant so I used water & squeezed a half a lemon in. I served it w/a ramekin of melted butter for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
Nice change from the usual method of cooking artichokes. Before I sauteed them, I rubbed the insides with a cut lemon and squeezed the juice from 1/2 of the lemon over the artichokes. I used more olive oil than butter which helps prevent the garlic from getting too dark. I added the juice from the remaining 1/2 lemon to the water or white wine. When serving the artichokes, I poured the sauce from the pan over them. Yum! Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
I found it a pain to yank out the "fur" and kept getting stabbed by the purple prickly leaves. I didn't notice much of a difference between this and when I steam them regularly. Also I needed to steam them much longer than the recipe stated. I tried adding white wine,, but that didn't help much either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Island, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
This was very bitter. I love artichokes, and this was the first time I didn't want to eat them. I think the garlic was cooked too long. I might try this recipe with a different cooking method to keep the garlic from going bitter again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
This was pretty good! After sauteing the garlic in butter, I pushed the garlic to the edges of the pan so it wouldn't brown and get bitter. The only one who didn't like it doesn't like artichokes period!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
These were very good, and very easy. It's the first time my husband has even tried artichokes and now they're one of his favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
I used olive oil instead of butter and served with garlic mayonaise. It was pretty good, a nice change from the usual steamed was of preparing them. A little too greasy. Be sure to watch them carefully so they don't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Sautéed Garlic Asparagus

This simple method really highlights the flavor of the asparagus.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States