Garlic Sauteed Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I made these the other night and they came out great. I did add a bit of lemon juice and Italian seasoning to the water oil mix, which was a good addition. Overall, very easy to do and very tasty. Will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
So much more flavorful than boiling. We have enjoyed armloads of delicious artichokes every day this week and this was one of my favorite methods. The intensity of artichoke flavor is lovely, and these are easier to prepare than boiling, which dilutes the artichoke flavor. I have a cleaning hint, especially for those dealing with organic home grown artichokes; soak them 30 minutes in a large bowl or bucket of water, then plunge them rapidly up and down in the water to rid them of dirt and aphids. After cutting in half, use the tip of a paring knife to score right under the base of the fuzzy choke-then pry out the choke with a spoon. It will pop out almost in one piece. More than 1/4 cup of water might be needed to steam for 20 minutes; I would say 1/2 cup if you don't have a tight sealing lid, or check at the midway point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Yummy! Easier to make this way. Saute onions with minced garlic in olive oil and butter. Squeezed half a lemon on artichokes. Added the artichokes to pan. When adding the water I added the other half of a lemon and some more butter. They could have cooked longer. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Gables, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I really enjoyed the "prep" on the artichokes--getting rid of the hairy choke, however, the steaming should be for 45 minutes instead of 20. There is no way of getting around a long steaming process, unless you use a pressure cooker. The recipe as it reads will give tough artichokes with no meat to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
My husband really liked these- I also cooked them nearly double the time recommended. Dipped in lemon butter. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma Nation

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I still probably like grilled ones better but I was happy to find a new way to cook them so thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Mmmmmm. This turned out really well, though I did my own tweaking. My hubby turned me on to artichokes when we met, but he was always burning them because they would invariably run out of water in the steaming stage. I found a way of cooking them in the microwave and adapted it for this recipe: simply follow this recipe through the sautee stage and then, instead of steaming on the stove, arrange the choke halves cut side down in a microwave safe dish with about 1/4 inch of water, cover loosely and microwave on high for 17 minutes. Let them stand for 5-10 minutes. The chokes cook nicely and do not burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I let the artichokes caramelize a bit in the frying pan. They are so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QTSunDoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Emeryville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Excellent, but then I love artichokes so much Santa always put them in my Christmas stocking! I used white wine for part of the water called for which added great complexity of flavor. Not an inexpensive vegetable given how much of it is inedible and they're kind of a pain to prep, but they're worth every penny. (Note: The smaller, baby artichokes, if you can find them, may be more expensive, but have less waste and are more tender)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Delicious and easy recipe! I reversed the process. Steam first then saute. I also added Hollandaise Sauce drizzled over top of artichokes. My husband has never liked artichokes before but he loved them cooked this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Sautéed Garlic Asparagus

This simple method really highlights the flavor of the asparagus.

Superb Sauteed Mushrooms

Mushrooms sauteed with red wine, teriyaki sauce and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States