Garlic Rosemary Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Comfort food at it's best! There's nothing like really good, creamy mashed potatoes and this was no exception. I cut the recipe in half and used red skinned potaotes. I didn't have evaporated milk, so I just used regular low fat milk. The garlic and rosemary paired together nicely, although I did cut back on the rosemary a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2001
Fabulous taste! I used regular milk as needed to make the potatoes creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
Used jarred minced garlic as a timesaver; added more garlic as well as more butter. Used heavy cream. Loved the flavor but I hated having the little bits of rosemary popping up every where. Solution? Maybe grind the rosemary or do as the recipe says and finely chop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
Oh these are so very good! I was hesitant to try, because my guys are mashed potatoes and gravy guys, but everyone liked these and no one even asked if we had any gravy. I'll fix these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Loved these potatoes! First off, I doubled this recipe so we'd have lots of leftovers. I didn't add the garlic in while boiling the potatoes, I waited until they were done and then added about 3 tablespoons of minced garlic before mashing. I added a full 2 tablespoons of dried rosemary. While the potatoes were boiling, I poured a little of the milk over the rosemary and it helped to soften them up a little bit. Loved the flavor of these and will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
I just used regular 2% milk and mashed by hand - if you overmash you end up with "gluey" potatoes and that's easier to do with a mixer, but oh my this was sooooo yummy!! and soooo easy - I made it in conjunction with the Roast Chicken with Rosemary by Nanette - http://chicken.allrecipes.com/az/RoastChickenwithRosemary.asp - what a fabulous dinner. I just added a nice side salad and voila a gourmet tasting dinner with VERY little effort!! Make sure you get GOOD fresh rosemary - I like Living herbs from California. The rosemary also makes the potatoes look pretty with all the little green flecks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
It was tasty! I did add about 3 tablespoons of sour cream to make it creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
This is a great recipe, I loved the garlic and rosemary flavors. I double the amount for a few days of leftovers. I used regular evaporated milk because I couldn't find a lowfat version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
Great taste... be sure rosemary is chopped fine; I also substituted regular milk for the evap. and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
These were good, but I needed to use way more evaporated milk than it called for. I would use regular milk in the future (evaporated just adds calories and didn't make it special) and add enough to make the potatoes a good consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States