Garlic Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This is a breakfast staple in the Philippines. It is usually eaten as you would have bread accompany your meals. It is normally served to accompany Filipino sausages (with as many varieties as there are regions in the country), thin slices of fried beef (called tapa) or sweet pork (tocino), or fried fish...even corned beef, luncheon meat, or chicken/pork adobo, for breakfast. Most times, slices of tomatoes and cucumber or pickled vegetables are served on the side while the fried meat or fish is dipped in vinegar and minced raw garlic, with salt and black pepper. The garlic rice, therefore, need no meats in them. It is not the basic "sinangag" (as it is called locally) Basic is the garlic. The best to use is day-old cooked rice. When the rice becomes hard in the fridge, just wet your hands and mash the rice to crumble when ready to cook. The finished product is not supposed to be wet but toasted. That is why it has to be "dried" for at least a day in the fridge. That is why it is really called Garlic Fried Rice. Season to taste with salt and pepper and/or enhance further with meat powder while cooking. Turn heat off only when you are satisfied with the consistency achieved. Basically though, except for the pork added, this is the way this dish is done by Filipinos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mandaluyong City, National Capital Region, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
I have a person who can't eat pork so i just deleted that portion of the recipe. This recipe is simple and delicious. My 10 yr old daughter had a blast cooking this with lots of supervision.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
This rice is great. I cooked the rice the night before in a rice cooker. I left out the pork and used more garlic salt, I love garlic. I made this as a side for Easy Olive Martini Chicken, they were great together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
one of my turn to recipes for cooking leftover rice, of the few filipino foods in my repertoire..... yes i am filipino but i use whatever rice i have left, sticky rice doesn't work so great..i've even tried it with brown rice and it was great. IN MY OPINION... don't measure the garlic... put aLOT.... tastes much better... a quick tip is not to make your heat too hot, or else your garlic wil burn quickly... usually when my garlic is just starting to brown on the edges, i go ahead and put the rice in, and it will still brown nicely while you mix up the rice..... i prefer lots of garlic and regular salt to using a little fresh garlic and using garlic salt... ... but everyone's version will be different.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Dublin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
We had a ton of leftover sliced pork from a party this weekend and I wanted to find a recipe that included both pork and rice. This recipe fit the bill! I chopped up the pork and used way more than two tablespoons. I also added some chopped green onion to the mix. I swapped the white rice for brown rice and I used pre-minced garlic from a jar. However, even with those changes this recipe turned out fantastic! The only thing my husband had to add was some crushed red pepper since he likes things spicy! And usually he adds a ton of salt and pepper to whatever I make. I highly recommend this recipe for using up leftover pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
This is definitely a filipino staple. Lola would also add some combination of onions, bacon, eggs, quail eggs, bean sprouts, bangus, chinese sausage (julienned), and/or frozen vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
The perfect solution to leftover rice. I love garlic and this really was a flavorful side dish. If the rice is not in an airtight container in the fridge, it may harden. I beat in an egg to make the rice moist again and cook as usual with the garlic and chopped scallions. I don't usually have pork on hand but it still tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
Delicious!!! Omitted the pork to use as a side dish. My wife loves it, and requests it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Like other reviewers, I omitted the pork, and the recipe still turned out very well. I used margarine instead of vegetable oil, and just used more chopped garlic and table salt instead of garlic salt. It turned out very well. I used it as the rice portion of a curry dish and my husband said it was a good complement. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiderQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
We loved it as a side dish with grilled meat! I probably used more garlic than called for but I love garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States