Garlic Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
good use for leftover rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. DeCanio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Very good. I didn't add the pork, and served it as a side dish with mojito chicken. I added some red pepper flakes as suggested by another review. Nice flavor, and an exciting change up from regular old rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Illinois, USA
Living In: Olney, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Such a simple recipe, but so full of flavor! My kids loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Twentynine Palms, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Great for breakfast. I made mine with chorizo and more garlic. It tasted like my mom's authentic Filipino fried rice. Yum! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Delicious! We love garlic and the bold flavor of this rice was excellent. I make this without meat and I don't feel like it's missing anything. Definitely one of my new favorite rice recipes! Served with Amazing Spicy Grilled Shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This is a breakfast staple in the Philippines. It is usually eaten as you would have bread accompany your meals. It is normally served to accompany Filipino sausages (with as many varieties as there are regions in the country), thin slices of fried beef (called tapa) or sweet pork (tocino), or fried fish...even corned beef, luncheon meat, or chicken/pork adobo, for breakfast. Most times, slices of tomatoes and cucumber or pickled vegetables are served on the side while the fried meat or fish is dipped in vinegar and minced raw garlic, with salt and black pepper. The garlic rice, therefore, need no meats in them. It is not the basic "sinangag" (as it is called locally) Basic is the garlic. The best to use is day-old cooked rice. When the rice becomes hard in the fridge, just wet your hands and mash the rice to crumble when ready to cook. The finished product is not supposed to be wet but toasted. That is why it has to be "dried" for at least a day in the fridge. That is why it is really called Garlic Fried Rice. Season to taste with salt and pepper and/or enhance further with meat powder while cooking. Turn heat off only when you are satisfied with the consistency achieved. Basically though, except for the pork added, this is the way this dish is done by Filipinos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mandaluyong City, National Capital Region, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I love this recipe! I use whatever ground meat is on hand, and add more garlic than called for and onions. My BF and his mother are both philipino and love this dish! It is so good that I use it as a main dish I just use 4 cups rice and 1lb meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
The perfect solution to leftover rice. I love garlic and this really was a flavorful side dish. If the rice is not in an airtight container in the fridge, it may harden. I beat in an egg to make the rice moist again and cook as usual with the garlic and chopped scallions. I don't usually have pork on hand but it still tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Not so much! This was kind of bland and didnt have much taste! I tried it twice, and both times just didnt like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington Court House, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
I could eat this dish every day! My version though, calls for using chopped ham (like leftover Christmas ham) instead of ground pork. After seasoning the rice, I usually make a well in the middle of the pan and add a couple of beaten eggs, scramble them and then when beginning to set, combine quickly with the rice. Sometimes I add frozen green peas and spring onions when the mood takes me - instant fried rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States