Garlic Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This was OK...somehow I think that we expected more, even though it is a pretty basic recipe. It seemed better to me warmed up for lunch. I added butter to it and it was OK. It is only a slight change from straight white rice as a side. It does seem like a real good starting point to experiment with and make your own additions. Good garlic flavor, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Excellent. This is a go-to recipe each time I have leftover white rice. I did away with the ground pork because I rarely have it anyways. I also used half a head of garlic. I peeled the cloves and then smashed them down. It may sound like a lot of garlic but it was perfect if you like garlic. Instead of garlic salt I used what I had, which was dried, minced garlic. I had a pork chop spice mix which was high in garlic powder and black pepper so used that and added kosher salt. I also didn't have oil, so I subbed margarine. It's easy to use substitutions, and still comes out nice as a base for dishes with sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Howth, County Dublin, Ireland
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Excellent use for leftover rice; served it with chicken and corn on the cob. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise Hill, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I'm only giving this a 4 because I modified it and I am not sure how the unmodified version tastes, but I'm sure it's good, but I think I may prefer my version. I cooked the rice as usual and then I added the rice to a pan where I had cooked my chicken in, added butter (you can use unsalted butter to control for salt), adobo seasoning, pepper (white or black), 1 clove garlic and fresh spinach, garlic powder to taste and that's it and it was really great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
not bad it was a nice change from just plain rice. its fast easy and a great side dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvu61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
It looks like there's nothing to this recipe, but it was the perfect side dish for my dinner tonight--only thing I changed was to add the last couple mushrooms I had to use up before they went totally belly up--nice, basic rice recipe that's a step above plain old white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Photo by hamilton
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
theese were vey good but could use a bit more garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hamilton

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Evart, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
one of my turn to recipes for cooking leftover rice, of the few filipino foods in my repertoire..... yes i am filipino but i use whatever rice i have left, sticky rice doesn't work so great..i've even tried it with brown rice and it was great. IN MY OPINION... don't measure the garlic... put aLOT.... tastes much better... a quick tip is not to make your heat too hot, or else your garlic wil burn quickly... usually when my garlic is just starting to brown on the edges, i go ahead and put the rice in, and it will still brown nicely while you mix up the rice..... i prefer lots of garlic and regular salt to using a little fresh garlic and using garlic salt... ... but everyone's version will be different.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Dublin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I am not a white rice fan unless it has soy sauce on it, but this recipe is amazing! I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I cooked up some bacon and used that grease instead of the vegetable oil. Also, I did not add the pork. Now I had a lovely rice dish to go with my bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a.rae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States