Garlic Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I'm vegetarian, so I made this without the pork of course. It was o.k., but a little bit dry. I think a little sesame oil would really enhance the flavor, though I know that would really change everything here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This was OK...somehow I think that we expected more, even though it is a pretty basic recipe. It seemed better to me warmed up for lunch. I added butter to it and it was OK. It is only a slight change from straight white rice as a side. It does seem like a real good starting point to experiment with and make your own additions. Good garlic flavor, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Excellent. This is a go-to recipe each time I have leftover white rice. I did away with the ground pork because I rarely have it anyways. I also used half a head of garlic. I peeled the cloves and then smashed them down. It may sound like a lot of garlic but it was perfect if you like garlic. Instead of garlic salt I used what I had, which was dried, minced garlic. I had a pork chop spice mix which was high in garlic powder and black pepper so used that and added kosher salt. I also didn't have oil, so I subbed margarine. It's easy to use substitutions, and still comes out nice as a base for dishes with sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Howth, County Dublin, Ireland
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Excellent use for leftover rice; served it with chicken and corn on the cob. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise Hill, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I'm only giving this a 4 because I modified it and I am not sure how the unmodified version tastes, but I'm sure it's good, but I think I may prefer my version. I cooked the rice as usual and then I added the rice to a pan where I had cooked my chicken in, added butter (you can use unsalted butter to control for salt), adobo seasoning, pepper (white or black), 1 clove garlic and fresh spinach, garlic powder to taste and that's it and it was really great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
not bad it was a nice change from just plain rice. its fast easy and a great side dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvu61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
It looks like there's nothing to this recipe, but it was the perfect side dish for my dinner tonight--only thing I changed was to add the last couple mushrooms I had to use up before they went totally belly up--nice, basic rice recipe that's a step above plain old white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Photo by hamilton
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
theese were vey good but could use a bit more garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hamilton

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Evart, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
one of my turn to recipes for cooking leftover rice, of the few filipino foods in my repertoire..... yes i am filipino but i use whatever rice i have left, sticky rice doesn't work so great..i've even tried it with brown rice and it was great. IN MY OPINION... don't measure the garlic... put aLOT.... tastes much better... a quick tip is not to make your heat too hot, or else your garlic wil burn quickly... usually when my garlic is just starting to brown on the edges, i go ahead and put the rice in, and it will still brown nicely while you mix up the rice..... i prefer lots of garlic and regular salt to using a little fresh garlic and using garlic salt... ... but everyone's version will be different.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Dublin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I am not a white rice fan unless it has soy sauce on it, but this recipe is amazing! I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States