Garlic Red Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
After making this over a dozen times, here is my edited version: when looking for this recipe, I was looking for a "garlic herb" sort of potato. I cut the potatoes into quarters but the cooking time for this recipe, as most people have mentioned, is WAY off. After 50 minutes or so, my potatoes weren't even close to being tender and the rest of my meal was about to get cold so I decided to throw everything in the microwave for 10 minutes- usually, that's how I make my baked potatoes so tender. PERFECT SOLUTION, and I highly recommend it. I now put the baking dish with potatoes, 2 TBS butter, generous drizzle of olive oil, and garlic, herbs, etc. in the microwave for about 15-20 minutes - not only does it taste exactly the same, but it takes a third of the time and your potatoes will be tender, guaranteed. For herbs, I just use 1-2 TBS dried italian seasoning. I also use concentrated lemon juice rather than real lemon. PS - Stir the potatoes every five minutes while microwaving just to make sure they're all coated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1295 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paola, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
These were excellent. I was missing the lemon juice, but had everything else. I did switch the cooking method up a bit. I had pretty decent sized red potatoes so instead of just quarters, I had to cut them in to eighths, maybe even a little more. I poured everything into a big ziplock bag and shook it all up. I then arranged the potatoes in a single layer on a cookie sheet. I baked uncovered at 375 for 35 minutes and they were perfectly tender. Maybe I cute mine smaller than others, but that amout of time was perfect, they were nice and brown on the outside and mushed just enough on the inside. If you bake on a cookie sheet instead of in a baking dish, I do recommend turning once about halfway through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
525 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey1021

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
I love roast potatoes, I find that if you par boil first the roasting time is much less and they crisp up better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
376 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
The cook time for these should actually be about an hour-they are definitely worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
This recipe was excellent! I made it with T-bone steaks and green beans. My boyfriend loved the potatoes so much that he didn't even want to eat his steak.. which is amazing because he loves steak! The only change I made to the recipe was that I doubled the garlic sauce. It was great and it will definitely be a family favorite....2nd review.....we have been making this recipe for over 5 years now and it's still a hit!! My boyfriend (now husband) absoluetly loves it. I gave this recipe to my sister as well and it's a hit in her family too. fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
These were amazing. I have not been able to find a good recipe for these potatoes. I am glad to have finally found one. The lemon gives this a really great taste and I did add more garlic than it called for, and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
These potatoes are delicious, but cooking time and temperature are way off. Mine took forever and I ended up raising the temperature. Next time, I will spread these out in a 9x13 pan and bake at 425.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
I cooked mine at 400 for about 40 minutes, and they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylistmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
LOVED, LOVED, LOVED this recipe. I could have eaten the entire bowl myself! I used small red creamers and less butter. I sprinkled them with Spanish smoked paprika from Penzeys for the final ten minutes, which put them over the top, flavorwise. Thanks, Laura, I will make these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
This is a nice basic recipe that can be altered to individual taste buds. Personally, I liked the lemon in this, the hubby & kids really didn't seem to notice. I had a few extra brussels sprouts that I threw in there, and they were so tender, as were the potatoes. Great with pork chops, thanks Laura!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 859) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Red Potatoes

This simple, savory side dish is perfect beside steaks and roasts.

Red Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Watch how to infuse mashed potatoes with the magical flavor of garlic.

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States