Garlic Red Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
These are excellent as printed. Red potatoes cook much faster than russets or baking potatoes, so the cooking time is about right. If yours aren't done, your pieces are too big! I know the recipe says "quarter them", but some red potatoes are larger, so the idea is to cut them into small chunks. Make sure, too, that you put them in a pan large enough that they can all touch the bottom, and at least one surface is exposed, for proper browning. I have also made them with oil instead of butter (olive or canola), and that works well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
After reading the reviews, I ended up cooking this in the microwave for 15 mins. It worked perfectly! I thought this was delicious! I also added 1 T of italian seasoning. Yummy!!! The only reason I am giving this 4 stars instead of 5 is because of the cooking change I made due to lots of complaints in the reviews about the cooking time being way off. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Nickerson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
It was OK. Just seemed to need a little more zip to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I would certainly raise the temp and baking time. Bake at 400 for 45 min to an hour. Still a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maxwell First

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Excellent! This recipe is a keeper. It does take longer to cook then instructed. But its well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Pretty good. Had to nuke the potatoes before adding the ingredients to cut back on the cooking time. Love the lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Nice overall flavors, but I needed to make some changes. I noticed that they were not cooking fast enough, so I had to crank up the heat to 450 to finish them in time for dinner. I also did not use as much butter-they didn't need it. I only used half a lemon because mine was enormous, and added a whole lot more parmesan cheese and some freshly ground black pepper. I might have added a fresh herb if I had had one on hand. We really enjoyed the lemon flavor and the texture. My boyfriend especially liked them. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Photo by jniner85
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Love this recipe. Tweaked two small things, I used actual minced garlic oppose to what was instructed as well as since I figured there would be no way that these potatoes would be cooked in the time frame stated. I boiled the potatoes for about 15 minutes prior to cutting and coating with a little olive oil and the rest of the flavorful garlic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
These are good. Tip: plan on a longer cooking time. ~60mins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Fantastic tasting, the reason I rated 4 stars is because I did take others advice a microwaved for a few minutes (12 I think) first because I've screwed up potato times so many times. I baked them 8 minutes, then 10 without the cover and they were so good...creamy texture not crispy and it was really delicious. Lots of compliments from my family. I used regular red potatoes frm the 10 lb bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 884) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Red Potatoes

This simple, savory side dish is perfect beside steaks and roasts.

Red Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Watch how to infuse mashed potatoes with the magical flavor of garlic.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States