Garlic Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
I made this for Christmas and my family loved it. I used the baking instructions from the "Perfect Prime Rib" article found on this website. I chose to sear the meat then do cook the meat at the low temperature for a long time. It turned out great. Here is the information: Time and Temperature There are two ways you can roast it: At a low temperature for a long time, or At a high temperature for a shorter time. Your roast will shrink less if you cook it low and slow, but you won't get the same flavorful, well-browned exterior that a high roasting temperature gives you. It's possible to combine the two methods by starting the roast at a high temperature to sear the outside of it, then turning down the oven after 30 to 45 minutes to finish the roasting. If roasting at 325 degrees F (165 degrees C), the meat will take about 17 to 20 minutes per pound. If you start the roast at 450 degrees F (235 degrees C) for the first 30 minutes and then reduce the temperature to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C), allow about 13 to 15 minutes per pound. The meat was tender and delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1631 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I've never been so sure that a recipe deserved five stars. This is the absolute perfect prime rib. I followed the directions exactly, only adjusting the time spent baking at 325 for my 7 1/2 pound prime rib. Because of the relatively low cooking temperature in the end, I waited until the roast temped at 135 before I pulled it out. After resting 20 minutes it was a perfect 145. I'm still reeling from how good this turned out... better than ANY restaurant I've had it at! P.S. I was worried that cooking at 500 was burning that yummy crust created by the garlic and thyme, but I kept faith and stuck with it and it turned out nice and crispy, not burned at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1282 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
Wonderful! Even though I cooked a 4.5 lb roast, I made the amount of garlic mixture called for in the recipe, which covered the fat very generously and produced a delicious crust. One reviewer mentioned their garlic was bitter. I imagine that the high initial temperature of 500 degrees scorched the garlic. I seared my roast at 460 for 12 minutes, and then since the fat seemed like it was on the verge of smoking, I turned the oven down to 400 for the last 8 minutes. I then roasted at 350 degrees rather than the 325 in the recipe, until my meat thermometer read 130 degrees. It was juicy with beautiful pink color in the center. Thanks Chen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
831 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
who knew making prime rib could be so simple! I have to say that this is the best piece of beef I have ever prepared. The au jus was eloquent! Just the right proportion of ingredients. The combination of the thyme and garlic gives a lovely flavor to the meat. Had a 4# piece, so halved the recipe for the marinade and it was spot on. Used kosher salt and ground the paste with my mortar and pestal. Scored the fat and placed the marinade on top pressing down on the marinade to soak into the cuts. Marinated this morning and placed in fridge, took out 1 hour before making. Thanks for the recommendations of turning down oven; did at 450 for the 20minutes then proceeded. I did add some beef broth to the bits at the bottom of the pan and it made a lovely thick, rich, dark au jus. I would love to use this on other cuts of beef using the same method. thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
372 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
My first prime rib, but not my last, I can't believe how easy this was, and so good. I made this for 8 adults and it got rave reviews, my husband said it was the best he ever had. I was so nervous, I've been known to overcook many a roast, but not this one, it melted in your mouth. The only changes I made were like some of the other reviewers stated and I browned it at 460 for 12 min. and then another 8 at 400, reduced it to 325 and cooked for 20 min per pound. I took it out when the temp registered 125 (was getting nervous), and let it sit out for 20 min. It was definatly a perfect rare in the center and med-rare on the ends. Terrific! The only change for me would be maybe take it out when temp reached 130, because I like more med-rare to med. But trust me no one complained, it was high 5's all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
327 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
I tried this recipe and it is awesome! I used a smaller cut of meat and adjusted the seasonings. Use an instant read thermometer and you cannot go wrong. I'm planning on using it again for our Christmas dinner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
249 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Very good!! I personally think that an instant read digital thermometer is key to making a perfect prime rib. I cooked a 5 pound prime rib and used the same amount of mixture ingredients as a 10 pound roast calls for. I followed other reviews and cooked at 460 for 12 minutes, 400 for 8 minutes & 325 for the remainder. I cooked it for 20-25 minutes a pound and took out of the oven when the internal temperature hit 125. I covered it in aluminum foil and let sit for about 10-20 minutes, until the internal temperature was about 135. It was a perfect medium rare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Oh, my! This is absolutely fabulous, I can't believe that I made it. I used a 5.44 lb roast and followed the suggestions listed below. Thanks, Chen!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
Excellent flavor and easy to do. (Though I'm always a wee bit nerveous when making Prime Rib.) I followed the other Reviewers suggestions and dropped the searing temp. to 460 degrees and increased the roasting time & temp: 15 minutes & 350, respectivly. **I cut the thyme to 1 teaspoon and added 1 teaspoon of dried rosemary. Use a meat thermometer and you really can't go wrong. Came out fabulous! I'd do this again in a minute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANCYNEON84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Voorheesville, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
This was the absolute best Father's Day meal I have ever fixed my husband of 15 years. After the smoke cleared out of the house (I gotta clean that oven!), it smelled like heaven in here! The crust was perfection! I was afraid the garlic and salt would make the drippings too strong to make a good gravy, but I was so, so, so wrong! After using some of the goodies from the pan to make the Yorkshire pudding, I only had about 1/3 cup left. I poured some cold canned beef broth into it, which was great because the change in temp made some of the fat coagulate so I could skim it off the top). I then thickened it with some cornstarch and served the BEST beef gravy I have ever made. Next time, I'll take the beef out at 130 so it is truly medium rare after the carryover cooking stops. I'll also get a bigger roast as my first-grader declared it his favorite meat and has been gazing longingly at the leftovers that will be tonight's dinner. Then again...maybe we'll have the beef for lunch and make Dad stop for a pizza on the way home. Hmmm! Thanks for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Prime Rib

See how to cook the perfect Christmas rib roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States