Garlic Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
We've been making prime rib for a number of years for Christmas Eve dinner. This was by far the best recipe we have ever used. It was perfect! We wouldn't change a thing. Thanks chef Mike ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I tried to cook a 7lb prime rib and the internal temp after all this time was not even above room temp. I did not open the oven door the entire time. I do NOT recommend this recipe. Did not cook and all my sides were then cold by the time another hour went by too cook the roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Can't wait to make it again, it was sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A.M.Ashley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I tried this recipe with an 8 lb prime rib for Christmas dinner! It was a hit for everyone! People are still talking about how good it was! Although my oven cooks more on the hot side so next time i'll watch it when the temperature gets close! It was fantastic and a no brainer recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I prepared this recipe today, December 26, 2013 (it was suppose to be Christmas Dinner, but we were still full from our family brunch) and it was amazingly good! Although my roast prime rib was only 5 lbs. I still prepared the marinade as written, but inserted slivers of garlic throughout the meat, wrapped it, and let it sit overnight in the frig. Prior to cooking I let the meat come to room temp and cooked it at 450 for 20min and then 325 for 3 hours - I don't care for rare meat so I cooked it longer than the recommended time. The Prime Rib was tender, flavorful, and moist! My daughter says it was almost as good as my sister's roast but I say it was 10xs better - lol! I served it with garlic mashed potatoes, glazed carrots, and rolls. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trecie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This was my first experience cooking a prime rib roast. I have an internal thermometer in my oven and learned in never gets above 430 degrees, so I preheated my oven and put in in for 30 mins rather than 20 before decreasing the temperature. I also left a digital thermometer in the roast so I would be sure not to over cook it. This was absolutely delicious, a huge hit and so easy to do!! I would recommend this recipe, especially to newbies and less experienced cooks like myself. This is how I will always cook my roast- it was so tender, moist and perfectly med-rare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This is the way to do it! My 4 lb roast was spot on. 460 for 12, 425 for 8 and 325 for 60. It left a little juice for the gravy and perfect resting time for the Yorkshire Pudding. Who could ask for anything more? Hands down the best I've done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JULIAGULIA3
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Absolutely, hands down, the best prime rib I've had in my home or at a restaurant. I inserted about 15 fresh garlic slices in the meat, them added the marinade and let it sit in the fridge overnight. They'd the only alteration to the recipe as written. I served Sandra Lee's au jus as a side. My family were extremely complimentary about the meal which made my heart fill with happiness !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIAGULIA3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Another reviewer wondered why this got so many good reviews because it is so standard. It is standard, and that's a good thing if you want to have a delicious prime rib. I use this recipe every Christmas, and whether I use the whole amount of marinade, or any lesser amount, it's always good. It may be standard, but in my book, it's the standard for making delicious prime rib. By the way, it's also good with rosemary rather than thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wolfsmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
My 9 pound roast wasn't even close to being done following these instructions. The 'marinade' was just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Prime Rib

See how to cook the perfect Christmas rib roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States