Garlic Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
You do not want to mess around with a cut of meat this expensive. This is the only recipe to ever trust, and the one to stick with for the rest of your life! I have made this for every Christmas day dinner since 2007. This meal is part of my gift to my extended family, and they now look forward to the prime rib as part of our tradition. I serve it with the roasted Brussels sprouts and whipped horseradish sauce from this site, along with a loaded baked potato. My daughter takes the potato orders, which adds to the fun of this meal. Add a carton of beef broth to the bottom of the pan and crank the oven up to 425 for au jus to serve with the meat. The first step of cooking the roast at 500 for 20 minutes will smoke out your kitchen, be prepared to open doors and windows even if it's the dead of winter. Our smoke alarm goes off every time, I liken this to pavlov's dog, as the loud alarm makes everyone's mouth water because they know the prime rib meal is coming. Thank you Chef Mike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Good not great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
We had this for New Years Day. Used a 8 lb rib roast and followed other suggestions of starting out at 460 degrees for 12 min then 400 degrees for 8 min and then 325 degrees. I did 12 min per pound but it was a little too rare for us so will try 15 min per pound next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This recipe is the BOMB! Simple and delicious! The bark is absolutely SCRUMPTIOUS. Made "as is" even though we only used a 5 lb roast (made the crust that much yummier). I like medium rare but hubby prefers medium so 135 was a little too rare overall (used a meat thermometer) so will probably take it out at 137 or 138 next time but otherwise, wouldn't change a thing. Thanks Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This was an excellent prime rib. Very juicy and full of flavor!! A huge hit to our holiday dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I made this last year for our New Years Eve dinner for my husband and my son! I made it exactly as it was written here, and oh my gosh. It was the most heavenly flavor. The three of us like garlic and the flavors mixed so well, my teenager went on about the taste for days! I served it with lobster tails, baked potatoes, cesear salad. We had cheese cake available for dessert, but no one could touch that after this meal! Today is New Years Eve and I'm here online looking at this recipe again. Making it tomorrow as outlined. Going to serve with garlic shrimp this year. Best reciped for prime rib I've ever tasted. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Penetanguishene, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
We've been making prime rib for a number of years for Christmas Eve dinner. This was by far the best recipe we have ever used. It was perfect! We wouldn't change a thing. Thanks chef Mike ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I tried to cook a 7lb prime rib and the internal temp after all this time was not even above room temp. I did not open the oven door the entire time. I do NOT recommend this recipe. Did not cook and all my sides were then cold by the time another hour went by too cook the roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Can't wait to make it again, it was sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I tried this recipe with an 8 lb prime rib for Christmas dinner! It was a hit for everyone! People are still talking about how good it was! Although my oven cooks more on the hot side so next time i'll watch it when the temperature gets close! It was fantastic and a no brainer recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Prime Rib

See how to cook the perfect Christmas rib roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States