Garlic Potatoes Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
This was really good! My husband and I went on vacation and brought back a wheel of Gouda cheese. I was searching for recipes to use with it so it wouldn't go to waste and this recipe was VERY helpful. I have cooked this dish twice and it was great both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
My husband and I thought this was an excellent, quick recipe for potatoes. We used smoked gouda, I added a little thinly sliced onion and a mix of heavy cream and half & half. Cooked it until it was really browned and bubbly, yum! No problems with seperation but would add more garlic next time, we love garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
Add more garlic and add half of it on the bottom layer. A big hit with kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
This recipe was absolutely fabulous! I made it exactly as described and it turned out perfectly! I had no problems with separation, even upon reheating. The leftovers were still very delicious! I would highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
I was concerned about the mixed reviews, but had some gouda cheese I needed to use up so I figured I would give this a try. I had the same issue as other reviewers, even right out of the oven it separated and looked rather unappealing. They tasted fine, I used a smoked gouda so the taste was also a little stronger. My husband ate too helpings, but that may have been because he skipped lunch and was hungry. I took a star away for appearance, on taste I would give a four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
Hmmmmmmm-not quite sure what I think about these. Overall the taste was good and I thought the gouda cheese was nice. However, the appearance-even when pulled right out of the oven - was not pretty. Looked pretty chunky. Overall, the taste was nice but I'm not quite sure if I'd make this again. Thanks anyways Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
Very Tasty!!!! I substituted sharp white cheddar for gouda (didn't want it to taste "bacony") did not reheat well though :( but definetly will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OCEANFLWR82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redlands, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
These potatoes were awesome! My six year old thinks this recipe should get "six hundred stars" (and she doesn't usually care for potatoes at all). The recipe doesn't need any altering. I did, however, use half & half instead of heavy cream and they came out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
This recipe was great. Very easy to make and tastes and looks like you spent a lot of time preparing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
This was amazing. We absolutely loved the flavor. It was so very easy to make and I did not change one bit of this recipe and got nothing from raves. These are absolutely THE BEST au/gratin potatoes I've ever eaten. These will definitely be made again and again! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States