Garlic Potatoes Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
really really excellent! i do suggest using a bit more garlic than called for, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I made this with just a couple of changes... I didn't have any Gouda, but I DID have some pepper jack. I omitted the garlic - nothing against garlic, I just didn't think it would go well with the pepper jack. I tossed the cheese into the cream, added some smoked turkey stock, and stirred until the cheese was melted, THEN poured it onto the potatoes. Melting the cheese into a sauce might help others who were having problems with separation. My husband absolutely loved this, and it made excellent leftovers the next morning to go with scrambled eggs & sourdough toast. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
I am a cheese cheese cheese lover and that's all I needed to add a wee bit more of to make this dish a 5* for me. This is an excellent potatoe side dish and so very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
Very good. I used smoked cheese (with a little leftover colby) and halved the recipe (except for the garlic -- I like garlic). I also used soy milk instead of cream. Worked well, and the leftovers didn't separate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
This is a great recipe! The only change I would make is to use less garlic - and I love garlic. Had no problems with sepration when re-heating. Will make these again and again! Great with pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
These are essentially the same as a recipe my husband got at a short stint at chef school. We use Parmesan, though the original calls for Gruyere. We also do not saute the garlic in butter--just crush it or mince it and layer it with the cheese--using way more garlic and a little more cheese. Seems like no matter how much garlic we use, it never becomes too much--the baking it makes it very mild. I have had these separate when I've refriged and reheated them. Doesn't happen too often because they're usually GONE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
This was really good! My husband and I went on vacation and brought back a wheel of Gouda cheese. I was searching for recipes to use with it so it wouldn't go to waste and this recipe was VERY helpful. I have cooked this dish twice and it was great both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
My husband and I thought this was an excellent, quick recipe for potatoes. We used smoked gouda, I added a little thinly sliced onion and a mix of heavy cream and half & half. Cooked it until it was really browned and bubbly, yum! No problems with seperation but would add more garlic next time, we love garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
Add more garlic and add half of it on the bottom layer. A big hit with kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
This recipe was absolutely fabulous! I made it exactly as described and it turned out perfectly! I had no problems with separation, even upon reheating. The leftovers were still very delicious! I would highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States