Garlic Potatoes Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I used this recipe for method and used the ingredients I had on hand. I had yukon gold potatoes and I used a mixture of cheddar and jack. I think it works well with any time of milk or cream you have on hand as well. I followed the recipe as written other than my substitutions and it was great. A nice change from typical au gratin potatoes. Good for a special occassion meal. I served this with flank steak and roasted asparagus for Valentine's Day dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Delicious! Sprinkled the layers in between with a little flour to help with the separation that other reviewers mentioned. Cooked in a slightly smaller dish, so ended up with three layers of potatoes, topped with the garlic and cheese and sprinkled with a Parmesan to top for a little kick. Baked for 1 1/2 hours with thicker potato layers. Turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
The BEST we've ever had!! BUT - I did make some changes. I started by slowly cooking 1/2 a vidalia onion (chopped) in butter. Once tender, I added flour to make a roux, then added milk to make a thick white (bechamel) sauce. I added salk and pepper to taste. I sliced my potatoes, put one layer in a 13x9" pan, topped with a little salt and pepper, then half the sauce. I topped this with a couple ounces of gouda chopped into cubes. Then I repeated the process: potatoes, s+p, rest of the sauce, and another couple ounces of gouda, then baked for about an hour. I usually make this exactly the same way but without the gouda. Never again will I do this without gouda - it was PERFECT! SO flavorful and a great consistency (I don't like them runny). I forgot about garlic but I don't think it was missed. SO easy and SO yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin O

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Very, very good! They lost their consistancy the next day though (too buttery).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Very Good! The gouda really adds a nice creamy texture to this dish. I halved the recipe and baked in a loaf pan. I was able to slice the potatoes evenly using the mandolin about 1/4 inch thick. I sprinkled the cheese evenly through 3 layers, then the cream over the top. I baked covered with foil the first 45 minutes. Uncovered for 15 minutes. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Delicious. Made for my family, all of whom loved it. I used 4 large russet potatoes, peeled and sliced. Microwaved them covered with plastic wrap for ~4.75 minutes, and then baked them for ~ 1 hour, or until tops browned. Also initially sprinkled salt, pepper, and paprika to potatoes to keep the dish from being too bland. It would be perfect for dinner parties or potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Made this a second time for Easter, and it was off the hook AGAIN! This time I had to make it for 20 people. For the heavy cream, I substituted a mixture of evaporated milk & fat free half & half (made everyone feel better about eating them!). I mixed all of the ingredients (except the potatos) in a bowl and added some chopped red onion (I think this made the flavor even better). I then distributed the mixture evenly between three layers, instead of two. I also took another poster's advice and sprinkled a bit flour on top of each layer of potatos before spooning on the mixture. I baked them for an hour covered and 15 minutes uncovered. Had the leftovers (that I had to secretly set aside) today and they were much tastier than they were the last time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCJANGULO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I didn't have Gouda cheese. I used a mixture of parmesan, cheddar and mexican cheese. I also used skim milk. I would've used evaporated milk but I didn't have that either. Next time I will make it with the Gouda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
These were delicious! Great side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Yummy!! I made this for Christmas dinner this year and everyone loved it! Pure heaven. Im making it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Reeve Cfmg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States