Garlic Potatoes Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by KM
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
These are soooo good!! I made the recipe the same - except I used half and half instead of the heavy cream, and Smart Balance butter. I loved the Gouda cheese!! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Loved these! I did use a sharp cheddar this time, but will try with the suggested gouda the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
The flavor was awesome! I think I might have done something wrong because there was a lot of fluid after it was done cooking. I drained it and it tasted great but it wasn't creamy...it had blobs of cheese. Like I said, I think I may have done something wrong! I did add onion, used garlic powder instead of cloves, and also used gouda, fontina, and colby cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
best ever. my dinnner guests thought i was a gourmet cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Tasted great the first day, but as the submitter said, the leftovers are very oily and I had to toss them. Great served with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Used slicing attachment on my KitchenAid mixer to slice potatoes. To reduce fat/calories, I cut butter in half, substituted LF evaporated milk for cream, and used 2% mexican cheese blend. It turned out awesome! My husband had no idea this wasn't the usual high fat dish he knows and loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Wonderful flavors and definitely made only as a treat because of the calories!!!!!! Thanks for submitting - no changes necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Absofrigginlutely. Exactly as posted (except i didn't peel), picture perfect tonguetastic delight. Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Great recipe!! I took a leap of faith and made it for the first time when I had company coming and it was delicious!! We all went back for seconds. The only change I would make next time is adding more of the Gouda. Other than that this is a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This was great! My only problem was that either the cook time or the temp was too low. I followed the recipe exactly (even slicing the potatoes very thinly) and they were still crunchy after the recommended cook time. I ended up microwaving the whole thing for 10 minutes and it came out fine. To keep the cheese from separating, I tossed the shredded gouda in a zipper bag with about 1T of flour. Worked like a charm. My family has already asked me to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States