Garlic Potatoes Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
delicious and very filling. I used a mix of cheddar and mozza cheese instead of gouda, and it went over well at suppertime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Ruzycki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Yorkton, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
These looked yucky, but tasted pretty good. I'm not sure what happened, but the saucey stuff got chunky and seperated from the potatoes.. There's probably better recipes out there for au gratin potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CareyLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Really not much flavor. I couldn't even taste the garlic. It needs something else to make it great. I'll try to add things to this starter dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
Really yummy. Comfort food extraordinare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
really really excellent! i do suggest using a bit more garlic than called for, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I made this with just a couple of changes... I didn't have any Gouda, but I DID have some pepper jack. I omitted the garlic - nothing against garlic, I just didn't think it would go well with the pepper jack. I tossed the cheese into the cream, added some smoked turkey stock, and stirred until the cheese was melted, THEN poured it onto the potatoes. Melting the cheese into a sauce might help others who were having problems with separation. My husband absolutely loved this, and it made excellent leftovers the next morning to go with scrambled eggs & sourdough toast. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
I am a cheese cheese cheese lover and that's all I needed to add a wee bit more of to make this dish a 5* for me. This is an excellent potatoe side dish and so very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
Very good. I used smoked cheese (with a little leftover colby) and halved the recipe (except for the garlic -- I like garlic). I also used soy milk instead of cream. Worked well, and the leftovers didn't separate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
This is a great recipe! The only change I would make is to use less garlic - and I love garlic. Had no problems with sepration when re-heating. Will make these again and again! Great with pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
These are essentially the same as a recipe my husband got at a short stint at chef school. We use Parmesan, though the original calls for Gruyere. We also do not saute the garlic in butter--just crush it or mince it and layer it with the cheese--using way more garlic and a little more cheese. Seems like no matter how much garlic we use, it never becomes too much--the baking it makes it very mild. I have had these separate when I've refriged and reheated them. Doesn't happen too often because they're usually GONE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States