Garlic Potatoes Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I tried another, similar recipe recently and rated it five stars and still would. But if that recipe was five stars, I’d rate this even higher if I could. Very similar recipes, with very similar results, yet somehow this one really left me with a remarkable impression. First, it requires no pre-cooking of the potatoes, which actually made them turn out far superior to those in the last recipe that required the precooking. Second, the recipe calls for Gouda, and since I used the smoked variety, we were rewarded with a lot of extra flavor. In addition, the cooking time was low and slow, not only giving me ample “hands free” time to prepare the rest of our dinner, but it almost guaranteed the potatoes would be cooked through with deliciously melded flavors. This was truly memorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Very good, but ended up being a little too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
very good but very fatty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
These were great! Followed the recipe except added onions. I cooked the potatoes a tad before slicing, I didn't have any issues with seperation but think you had to cook longer then suggested. I did cover with foil for 30 minutes, but I should have done it a bit longer, maybe 45 mins as the top was very brown and the potatoes just a tad undercooked. will adjust time. This was excellant with Ham on Easter and do not skip the Gouda (I used smoked) I think that is what makes this dish! Thanx I will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I thought this was good, but was hoping for a more "cheesy" flavor as I really love Gouda. I did love the garlic, especially the smell while baking. I did use skim milk because I completely forgot to pick up heavy cream at the grocery store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I would say to those who found it separated and looked chunky to use a different potato than the red. Russets really do work well in gratin dishes. Yes it changes the very base of it, but these are too waxy to absorb the liquid. Very delish otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
they were delicious, and so easy, used onion flakes in the middle to help...yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Markdale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Killer taters!!!!! I cherry smoked a ribeye roast medium rare (bout the same as prime rib) and served it sliced with these potatoes and some brandied cranberries. Nothing but raves. These taters are outstanding and easy to prepare. Use your mandoline to slice the taters and use fresh garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peculiarmike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Peculiar, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KM
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
These are soooo good!! I made the recipe the same - except I used half and half instead of the heavy cream, and Smart Balance butter. I loved the Gouda cheese!! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Loved these! I did use a sharp cheddar this time, but will try with the suggested gouda the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States