Garlic Potatoes Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Very Good! The gouda really adds a nice creamy texture to this dish. I halved the recipe and baked in a loaf pan. I was able to slice the potatoes evenly using the mandolin about 1/4 inch thick. I sprinkled the cheese evenly through 3 layers, then the cream over the top. I baked covered with foil the first 45 minutes. Uncovered for 15 minutes. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Delicious. Made for my family, all of whom loved it. I used 4 large russet potatoes, peeled and sliced. Microwaved them covered with plastic wrap for ~4.75 minutes, and then baked them for ~ 1 hour, or until tops browned. Also initially sprinkled salt, pepper, and paprika to potatoes to keep the dish from being too bland. It would be perfect for dinner parties or potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Made this a second time for Easter, and it was off the hook AGAIN! This time I had to make it for 20 people. For the heavy cream, I substituted a mixture of evaporated milk & fat free half & half (made everyone feel better about eating them!). I mixed all of the ingredients (except the potatos) in a bowl and added some chopped red onion (I think this made the flavor even better). I then distributed the mixture evenly between three layers, instead of two. I also took another poster's advice and sprinkled a bit flour on top of each layer of potatos before spooning on the mixture. I baked them for an hour covered and 15 minutes uncovered. Had the leftovers (that I had to secretly set aside) today and they were much tastier than they were the last time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCJANGULO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I didn't have Gouda cheese. I used a mixture of parmesan, cheddar and mexican cheese. I also used skim milk. I would've used evaporated milk but I didn't have that either. Next time I will make it with the Gouda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
These were delicious! Great side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Yummy!! I made this for Christmas dinner this year and everyone loved it! Pure heaven. Im making it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANKHESENAMUN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Enjoyed this as a change from heavier potato dishes with our Christmas ham. I added a little dijon mustard for added kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
This dish was wonderful. Yes, it's got tons of calories, but it's worth it. My guests also raved about it. Because of past posts, I used more Gouda (9 oz) and extra garlc (7 to 8 cloves). I also didn't brown the garlic in the butter. Instead, I melted the butter and put the garlic in at the last moment to make it easier to spread in the dish. This is definitely one of my favorites! Not an everyday dish, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Absolutely fabulous! My family couldn't get enough of it....I left the peels on the potatoes, adds some color and nutrition that way. I also added more gouda since it is my favorite cheese. Will make again and again! Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
These were pretty good but not enough so to warrant the high calorie count. Next time I might try evaporated milk as suggested by other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States