Garlic-Pepper Tenderloin Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I made half of the rub mixture for two large beef tenderloin steaks and had plenty to cover all sides. I wasn’t sure if the submitter meant fresh garlic or dried, so I opted for dried and used 1/2 t. of garlic powder. I was concerned that fresh might burn while searing the steaks on the grill and turn bitter. We take our steaks off the grill at 135 degrees and let them rest for 5-10 minutes. We get a perfect medium-rare every time. This was very flavorful and the seasonings did not overpower the flavor of the meat. We enjoyed this and would definitely do it again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Tried this rub on my rib eyes tonight. Turned out delicious. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AiliDeSpain

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
My husband loves this steak. It's VERY spice, a little too much so for me, but if you like spicy, it's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Wow! We really liked this rub. I followed the published recipe but broiled my steak instead of grilling. A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julias1

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
My husband isn't a big fan of putting anything on his steak but salt and pepper, maybe some garlic, However I talked him into trying this rub on our T-bone steaks. The only thing I changed was substituting the cayenne pepper with chipotle powder for more of a smoky flavor. A nice flavored crust that didn't overwhelm the great tender juicy steak inside, we were both happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
A keeper for sure!! We REALLY Like this one!! It was a "tiny" bit spicy for our taste, but let me say it didn't stop us a bit from gobbling it up! Still gets 5 stars & I will just cut back the spiciness (is that a word??) next time!! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This was a simple and easy to make rub and tasted fantastic! Didn't change a thing. Placed red, orange and yellow sweet peppers and a onion around the sides and baked at 350 and it looked and tasted fabulous! Everyone loved it and it was very attractive too. Had boiled red potatoes and corn on the side with garlic bread. Wonderful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
My family really enjoyed it. I put in just a bit of the chili powder to take the bite out of it, and the flavor was fabulous. I broiled it, and plan to grill it next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I omitted the chili powder, since I don't have any on hand. I usually love hot or spicey or peppery things - but I felt like this was just spicey or peppery enough that I didn't enjoy every bite as much as I should have. I'll try this recipe again, but will cut the paprika and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by waxing witch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daniel
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Excellent steak recipe for those who like it spicy like me! For those who aren’t tuned in into spicy foods, I recommend that you simply not include chilli powder in the mix. Other than that, I followed the instructions and added the right amounts for each ingredient and it turned out great! I accompanied this spicy steak dish with steamed broccoli covered in a three-cheese sauce, mashed potatoes with fried mushroom, bacon and onion and a bottle of Malbec wine. Wow! Great combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casselman, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States