Garlic Pepper Seitan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
This was super tasty for being such a simple recipe! Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This was super easy to make and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mikebike
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
My first post here. I agree that it seem like it needed some spices. I liked it but made quite a few changes. I took two 8 oz containers and dumped it into one large container with all the juices together. Added one Tbls of Curry powder, 1/2 Tbls of Turmeric and 1/2 Tbls of Sage with some salt & pepper and Cayenne. 2 Tbls of White Wine and 2 Tbls of Worchestire sauce. Stuck it in the refrigerator for couple of hours and went to store to get some Broccoli. Added 2 Tbls Olve Oil in a pot and cooked one Onion, 6 cloves of Garlic and Ginger for 5 mins. Dumped all the Seitan w/ juices and spices and cooked for 30 mins on low. Added Broccoli for another 10 mins. Added red bell pepper for 5 mins. Threw in one Jalapeno and some cashews for last 3 mins and voila.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mikebike
Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Added SWEET soy sauce and some cayenne pepper. So good! Would have given it 5 stars if the extra ingredients I added were included. So happy I found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This recipe is great! However I did substitute the green pepper for red pepper (I like a little more of a kick) but besides that I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMaryMae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
The recipe was good. I used 1/2 Green Pepper and 1/2 Red Pepper, also substituted 1/4 Cup black pepper sauce for the pepper. The sauce consistency (I did add the broth from the seitan package) was perfect, but the flavor was just lacking. It needs more spice. I added Sriracha to my plate and that helped a lot; but the seitan came out kind of rubbery. This was the first time I've tried Seitan, so I'm not sure if it was the recipe, or the seitan. We used WestSoy brand Chicken Style Seitan; got it at Whole Foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Druhda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I made this with asparagus instead of peppers and added some broth and a little soy sauce for it all to simmer in (which made a lovely sauce with the cornstarch slurry). DELICIOUS. This is my first time cooking and eating seitan and I needed a simple recipe - this was perfect. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Disclaimer: I am an omnivore, but my boyfriend is an herbivore. We thought this was quite good, like a beef stew. From our experience, it needs some vegetables like cut potatoes, carrots, and pearl onions. I had no green bell peppers, and I didn't want it to have the sweetness of red bell pepper. I made my own seitan (I've never seen it in stores), so I don't know how it's packaged. Based on what other reviewers mentioned about broth, I measured 1/8 cup soy sauce and added water to make 1 1/2 cups. This I added with the seitan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Very good. I used red pepper instead because that's what I had already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This was SO good! I wasn't expecting it to be as flavorful as it was, but the 35 minutes of simmering really does its job :) I halved the recipe because I only had one seitan package, and 2 tbsp of oil was still a little too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

How to Peel a Pile of Garlic in 20 Seconds

Discover the ultimate garlic-peeling trick.

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

This simple vegetable recipe is an elegant, healthy side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States