Garlic Penne Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
I'm not so sure how good this recipe would be if you followed the instructions to a tee, however I used the directions as a diving board and added my own two-cents. I used half of the penne suggested, but the full amount of olive oil. I also kept the amounts of garlic, parsely and black pepper the same. I quadrupled the amount of sun dried tomato, and added two freshly sliced mushrooms. After I sauteed the mix and added the pasta, I then added about 2 Tbsp fresh basil. The end result was phenomenal. Thank you for the stepping stone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
This could be a 5 star dish with anyones own ideals, First I would not and did not use the whole pkg of pasta, I used more garlic than called for, I also used fresh greenbeans instead of sun dried tomatoes, and I added some shrimp I also went a little heavy on the pepper. My dish came out great and full of flavor. 5 stars !!!! I only rated it 4 stars for the orign recipe great start though thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette P Henry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
Not bad! The whole box of penne pasta ended up being a bit too much. Also, had to use several sun dried tomatos - two just kind of get lost in that much pasta! I also ended up putting in a bit of garlic powder - the three cloves were barely noticible. Also will be using a bit more olive oil next time. Pretty good overall though! Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
Great side dish. I served mine with grilled herb chicken and steamed broccoli. I used whole wheat pasta and fresh italian parsley. I also sauteed the pasta in the pan with the oil and herbs for a few minutes to "crisp" it a little.Excellent!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
A very familiar, "everyday" dish for me - couldn't live without it! But I've never tried it with sun-dried tomatoes. Not sure I'm a fan of that addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Was lacking as is; I felt it needed more oomph. I will make again, but I will add butter, basil and more garlic and Parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
This was good but a little bland and dry. I used fresh grape tomatoes which I think is better than the sun dried. If I were to make this again I would definately tweak it, use salt of more seasonings and use a little more oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
I really like this one, the garlic gets nice and hot if you have leftovers the next day. Its now one of my most favorite. One thing I like to do is make the pasta get darkened in the pan. Yummy yum yum Marcel H.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I agree, this is a great baseline for a fresh summer pasta! I used 1/3 box of the wheat penne instead of the entire thing. I also did not want to change up the vegies as I wanted a clean fresh simple pasta, but I did double it. I used Roma tomatoes instead of Sundried. I also sauted the garlic in olive oil with parsley.. threw in the vegies, then added minced onion, and itialian seasoning. I put that mixture aside when I felt it was ready, and took my cooked pasta and sauted it on the skillet with some olive oil and garlic powder to get it a little crisp and absorb some flavor so it was not so bland as it is wheat pasta. Mixed it all together, added crushed red pepper and fresh parmesan shavings and it was delish! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MshhhL
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
This recipe was tasty, but the best thing about it is it is fast, fast, fast and easy! It used ingredients that we already had around the house. It was ready in minutes. We wanted a protein boost so we cut up some Morningstar Farms Chik patties and mixed them in with the pasta. The only other change we'd make is that we'd like to use a little less red pepper next time, to tone down the spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States