Garlic Penne Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
very bland as written, and not enough sauce for the amount of pasta called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
This was good but a little bland and dry. I used fresh grape tomatoes which I think is better than the sun dried. If I were to make this again I would definately tweak it, use salt of more seasonings and use a little more oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I am so grateful I stumbled across this recipe. My first attempt at dinner failed, and I didn't have a backup plan (nor a lot of food left in the house). This lil' baby came to the rescue. My only changes were instead of sun-dried tomatoes, I used grape tomatoes, which I cut into quarters, and Campanelle (pasta that is shaped like a little bell). I eyeballed the seasonings, as well as the pasta, since I was just making 1 serving. Everything worked out nicely. Thank you for posting, Taliesen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Two words: ADD BACON! This was a great dish with that addition but I agree with other readers that the sauce wasn't enough for the amount of pasta it called for. When I make this again, I think I'll use the following ratio. 1 box BOWTIE pasta 6T olive oil 8 sundried tomatoes, softened and chopped 8 slices of of bacon drained & crumbled 5 cloves of garlic, chopped 1T parsley flakes 1/2t black pepper 1t red pepper flakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Awesome pasta recipe! Just looking for somthing to cook with on hand ingredients...this almost fit the bill, so I improvised: sauteed garlic (3 clvs) w/parsley in the evoo, added 1 cn stewed tomatoes, cut (w/the juice), brought to a boil--added spices, simmered a bit then stirred the pasta in a few spoonfuls at a time until it reached a good consistency...was low on the parm, threw in some Mozza. DEE-lish! LOVED the red pepper kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morganirek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Livingston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This was pretty bland. I'll be eating this for lunch and I had it for dinner. I added lots of tomatoes and garlic, but it still didn't do for me. I'll try something else. I'm glad that other people liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Really good pasta recipe. Simple to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
This recipe was tasty, but the best thing about it is it is fast, fast, fast and easy! It used ingredients that we already had around the house. It was ready in minutes. We wanted a protein boost so we cut up some Morningstar Farms Chik patties and mixed them in with the pasta. The only other change we'd make is that we'd like to use a little less red pepper next time, to tone down the spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I think the black pepper and red pepper gave it too much of a bite. I added tomato sauce to the recipe so that it wouldn't be too bland with just garlic and pepper. It is a good starting point. Play with it some and you will get better results. Next time I am going to add chicken and cut out the red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I give it a 3.5....it was O.K. it needs some work. THe flavors were good but it needs more sauce and alittle something else...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevenRN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States