Garlic Penne Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Left out the sun-dried tomatoes and used a diferent shaped pasta than penne. Perfect side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Penne turned out delicious. I received so many praises. I changed it a bit by using fresh parsley sautéed with the garlic and when completed, added fresh basil. I also used less pasta-12 oz as suggested in other reviews. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Very quick and easy. I added onion with the garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Was lacking as is; I felt it needed more oomph. I will make again, but I will add butter, basil and more garlic and Parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I used rotini pasta, which I think holds flavor better, and the recipe turned out perfectly. The crushed red pepper may need to be increased (as in my case) or decreased according to personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I made this as written but with spaghetti noodles. It was really good, but tasted to me like it was missing something. I'm not sure quite what!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelleag05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Didn't want to cook tonight, but I also didn't want to eat junk food. Took a look on here for something/anything and came up with pasta gold! #1 This came together in no time flat, #2 it was delicious. I added shrimp because I had them and took the advice of some reviewers and added Roma tomatoes to the mixture and halved the pasta. Just a touch of pasta water made the sauce spectacular! Glad I found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I too halved the amount of pasta, used 4x's the amount of tomatoes, threw in several handfuls of defrosted frozen veggies and deleted the red pepper. I found this very oily although i used slightly under the 1/4 cup. Hubby threw it out, son thought it was ok but "greasy". I'll make again but use butter in place of oil as many Italians do- its much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Keswick, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I agree with many other reviewers, this is a great recipe to use as a springboard. I followed the recipe pretty closely, however, I did increase the olive oil to 2/3 cup, I used more pepper, minced garlic, and parsley than the recipe called for and upped the parmesean cheese to 1 cup. I did not have sun dried tomatoes, so I halfed about a cup of cherry tomatoes that I had in the fridge and hand shredded some fresh spinach (about a cup) into the mixture. I also added anbout 3/4 cup of chicken broth, a can of mushrooms, a can of sliced black olives, and a can of chopped artichoke hearts. I added a bit of italian seasoning and some dried minced onion as well. I did not choose to serve this over penne. (I was working with what I had on hand!), but over gnocci. It was excellent! Plus, I felt good about it because I got in a lot of veggies! This recipe is great because it can easily be modified around what you have available. Next time I'd love to add shrimp or scallops! MMMMM! TASTY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Like so many others, I made a few revisions. I added mushrooms and used Italian seasoning. I wouldn't consider the tomatoes optional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tommy H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Farmington, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States