Garlic Penne Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I love this recipe! I so easy to follow and quick to make. I used 1/2 tsp of the pepper flakes because of my kids. I don't normally have sundried tomatoes so I used diced tomatoes and it worked fine. I also added about 1/2 cup of heavy cream to make it with some fettuccine pasta. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Simple, straight forward, and easy to prepare! I cut the recipe in half and opted to use a couple hand fulls of grape tomatoes that I sliced in half. I kept the rest of the ingredients the same, except of the red pepper flakes which I added to taste. I added a little chopped fresh basil and some shredded Italian cheese blend. Overall, a nice side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Like other reviewers, I thought it was too bland as-is. That is largely a personal preference though. My rating is for the recipe as-is, though I did end up adding a few things that made it extra good to my wife and me - some salt, butter, and basil at the end. She said it would go great with some fried salmon filets, and we'll be having that for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Djs2013
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This recipe is definitely a keeper! Instead of penne, I used spaghetti- the only pasta I had on hand. A used way more garlic, fresh parsley, basil, and a added a dash of oregano. What a fantastic dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This was okay, I spiced mine up a bit more by adding more garlic, i also boiled my pasta in chicken broth, I added more olive oil, and basil, and grape tomatoes to it and it was better. Next time I may add some bacon pieces. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Melinda~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This was quite tasty. I made it exactly as written, and included the sun-dried tomatoes. It was nice to see that pasta can be made very flavorful with just a bit of vegetables and spices, and no "sauce" per se.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Very Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss T

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I agree, this is a great baseline for a fresh summer pasta! I used 1/3 box of the wheat penne instead of the entire thing. I also did not want to change up the vegies as I wanted a clean fresh simple pasta, but I did double it. I used Roma tomatoes instead of Sundried. I also sauted the garlic in olive oil with parsley.. threw in the vegies, then added minced onion, and itialian seasoning. I put that mixture aside when I felt it was ready, and took my cooked pasta and sauted it on the skillet with some olive oil and garlic powder to get it a little crisp and absorb some flavor so it was not so bland as it is wheat pasta. Mixed it all together, added crushed red pepper and fresh parmesan shavings and it was delish! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MshhhL
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
great recipe, like some others, i reduced the olive oil, and added 1/2 cup dry white wine and reduced prior to adding into the pasta. I also used whole grain pasta. Topped with shredded mozzarella. Delicious, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthony Scudder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
A very familiar, "everyday" dish for me - couldn't live without it! But I've never tried it with sun-dried tomatoes. Not sure I'm a fan of that addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States