Garlic Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This is a classic Italian side dish with much room for improvisation and versatility. Add more or less garlic to suit your tastes, but I would strongly advise against sauteing it for 10-15 minutes as the recipe directs. Browning the garlic is a risk that should definitely be avoided as it turns unpleasantly bitter. Just saute it for about 30 seconds to a minute, depending on the heat you're using, until fragrant. I also reduced the crushed red pepper significantly--it's presence should be subtle. Use herbs alone or in combination--no need to measure, just add to suit your taste. As with any cooked pasta, reserve some of the cooking water to add to the pasta if necessary as it sits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I have read a few reviews, and have noticed that quite a few people have said that the amount of herbage was simply overwhelming. And I can't help but wonder if they used dried herbs, rather than fresh. I used fresh herbs in the amounts recomended, and found myself eating a very fresh, very beautiful bowl of pasta. I did serve mine with additional grated parmesan on the side, and found that everyone used more, so perhaps the cheese could have been doubled. Given that the cheese is the only source of salt in this recipe, that may be the reason why we used so much extra cheese. Perhaps a sprinkling of salt would have cured that... Having said all that, I find myself making this often when I have a need for a good flavour, but little time. Final note: one other adjustment I made was to add a bit of lemon juice. Again, I served wedges at the table, and left each to their own. Some used it, some did not. I have tried it both ways, and it really depends on my mood, and how rich the other dishes I served alongside it. With other rich dishes, the lemon is a must. With light dishes on the side, I found it excessive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wsf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverdale, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
I made a few mistakes with this recipe that I wanted to share. First, I was paranoid about burning the garlic (which tastes horrible) and ended up undercooking it. Raw garlic is just too overpowering for most dishes... Find a happy medium. Second, I didn't have any parmesan cheese on hand, so I left it out. As a result, the dish needed salt to substitute for the cheese. I also made a large batch and planned to use it for pasta salad as lunch. Because the sauce is oil based, it does not absorb well in the refrigerator. The pasta tends to dry up a little. I suggest cooking a little past al dente or adding a little broth. I'm vegetarian and have experimented with vegetable broths unsucessfully. You meat eaters enjoy the chicken broth which works nicely with it. I had some pine nuts on hand and they made a nice addition. Just add them to the sauteing garlic with about 5 mins to go. I also found that the sauce needed a Tbsp or so of butter to add to the flavor of the rather bland olive oil. Fake margarine spreads works particularly well since they have more concentrated artificial "butter flavor". Also, make sure your skillet is large enough for the amount of pasta you make. Also better buy some breath mints while you still have friends. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lenexa, Kansas, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
When I make this I place my colander with broccoli over the pasta pot and steam it for the last 5 minutes. delish. serve fresh grated parmesan and garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2001
Awesome Recipe. Very easy to make and very tasty! Thanks for sharing Greg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
This was good. I added the juice of one lemon. Next time I will cut the amount of Italian seasoning back though. I really thought it was too strong and killed the other flavors. My 17 month old liked it and ate two helpings. I ate mine with just a salad and my daughter had fruit and green beans. But if you feel the need for meat with your dinner I think it would go well with some Italian sausage that was sliced and browned. Last thing, make sure you use real Parmesean cheese, don't use the stuff in a can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
Great simple taste! Went great with the "Breaded Parmesan Chicken" recipe I found on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHELWEEDEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2001
I added some extra spice to it, like fresh Lime and a little bit of seasoned salt. I enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
Excellent recipe to which I also added shrimp in with the garlic as it was sauteing, however, ten to fifteen minutes is way too long to cook garlic. The whole family went nuts over this Greg and thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
A wonderfully simple recipe. I used whole wheat penne and reduced the crushed red pepper a lot (I used maybe 1/2 tsp.). I used dried herbs, reducing the amounts since dried herb flavor is more intense than fresh. This made a great side dish and I will most likely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States