Garlic Onion Focaccia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Identical recipe in my bread machine cookbook and well worth all the stars - have used it for years and get requests all the time. I make this in a rectangular pan and cut into "fingers" when done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I do not have a bread machine so I made use of my kitchen aid (KA) mixer dough hook. The first thing I did was proof my yeast (warm cup of water mixed with 1 tablespoon of sugar then add yeast. Wait 10 mins and let yeast get foamy). Then added salt, 1 teaspoon dried oregano, 1 teaspoon dried thyme, 1/2 teaspoon dried basil and 2 tablespoons of olive oil. After mixing the flour with the yeast/herb mixture, I put the dough into the KA to knead for 5 mins. Afterward, I put the dough in a bowl with a warm damp towel on top for 40 mins. I did not have a pizza pan so I used a greased cookie sheet instead and shaped the dough into a rectangle. Then let it rise for 30 more minutes. I baked the focaccia halfway then put on the sauteed onions/garlic and cheeses so the toppings wouldn't burn. It took about 20 minutes to turn golden brown. Tasted fantastic! There are so many variations with this recipe! Thinly sliced tomatoes, grilled bell peppers, black olives etc. Thanks Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Excellent! I added a layer of very thinly sliced plum tomatoes. I have made this a few times and it dissappears quickly :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
YES!!!! a real Italian foccacia! thanks Cindy! I'm tired seeing just pizza that they called focaccia...THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
Delish! We had this for a light dinner tonight and it hit the spot. I followed recipe exact but doubled the garlic. I was afraid it was going to be too dry, but once you add the cheese on top of the onions and it bakes, it's just right. I prebaked for 7 minutes, then added toppings and baked for the remaining 8. Thank you for sharing this recipe; we'll make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I made this to eat with dinner last night and it was fabulous! It was great with the spicy oil and vinegar dip on this site... I had some more for breakfast this morning! I had to leave out the cheese and subbed non-hydrogenated margarine for the butter. I will definately make it again and will try it for a pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micsulli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Fantastic! I added a teaspoon of italian herbs to the dough. When baking I added the onions & parmesan cheese halfway through the bake time so they would get too done. It was so good! I served it with the Alla Checca recipe from this site for an amazing appetizer (just like CPK!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
This is to die for! I loved the taste of the onions with the garlic. So easy to make and well worth the time invested. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATZEYES

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Juneau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States