Garlic Mustard Ham Slice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
Quick, easy, and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
Very tasty but yes, it does look pretty awful! We cut up a half-ham into 3 big chunks and I had tripled the recipe (mustard and garlic) but sure didn't need to - ended up wasting a lot of it so next time I'd only maybe double the mustard and garlic. We served it with rice and tossed salad and it was a yummy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
...okay, I won't be making this again. Not only did it look awful (the milk curd is deposited on the meat) but neither my husband or myself noticed any effect the sauce made in the flavor of the ham slice. Sorry, Kate...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
This recipie was so bad i threw it out. Don't waste your time with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by april
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
My fiancé and I thought this was a very delicious dish (For what we had haha.). The only thing we had in our freezer was a slice of ham weighing about a pound. I looked up this website and typed in “sliced ham recipes” and up popped this. The recipe sounded quick, easy and to make it better, the ham was fabulous. I added a bit of honey and I used brown mustard for the sauce. I’m not particularly picky about what I eat, but it looked nasty; lol! But you know what they say, “Looks bad, but tastes great!” Thanks! Lynnie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by april

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This dish wasn't very attractive, but it was DELICIOUS!!! My husband doesn't even like mustard, but he loved this dish!! I served it with macaroni salad and garlic toast - flavors mingled well together and left everyone more than satisfied!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I used this to fix a small (probably half pound) ham slice. Normally I just heat them in a fry pan but decided to do something different. I could not bring myself to use milk especially after reading the reviews about curdled milk. So I used water instead. The result was good. Maybe next time I'll use chicken or beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I've made this recipe about 6 times now, and my results have been a little different from the other reviews. I have not had the "curd" effect that others have mentioned. I have made this either in one of the oven proof plastic bags, or the slow cooker, and made the sauce to a boil prior to adding to the meat. The consistency is completely smooth, and I found it gave good flavour to the ham, and made it incredibly tender. Prior to serving, I thicken the left over sauce and serve it as a dipping sauce. The last time I made it the sauce, I added it to left over home-made macaroni and cheese, and scalloped potatoes. It gave great flavour and a zest to both of these dishes. Thanks Kate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
It was okay, but I won't make it again. There wasn't much flavor and the mustard made it too salty for us. I didn't have the curdling problem that others had, though. I whisked the sauce ingredients together first and brought it to a boil, then poured it over the ham and baked it in a plastic cooking bag as one reviewer suggested. Covering it kept the ham from drying out, but I'm going back to my favorite way to cook a ham slice. Maybe I'll post that recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherryL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This was really good and VERY easy. The mustard wasn't overpowering, and the milk kept the ham nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States