Garlic-Mushroom Rib Eyes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Excellent! Yes, the cooking time is clearly off for the steaks...ours took about 9 minutes per side on medium high heat(it was a thick one.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
Kelly, I was happy to see a ribeye recipe here that was not marinated.A ribeye is a very tender tasty steak. I would marinate less tender steaks but not ribeyes.I am making these tonight over applewood, sprinkled with a charcoal seasoning and grilled portabellas.Dot with butter when finished. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Party Chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Grilled the steaks. This was a yummy recipe but I think the sauce got a little salty. Next time, I will use a low-sodium broth and Portabello mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Very good! I didn't use rib eyes :( I had eye of round steaks. This was a very good recipe anyway! Loved the mushrooms. For the sauce though I didn't have beef broth so I used 2 T chicken stock and 1 T Worchestshire Sauce. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Used this recipe for Christmas Eve dinner and the steaks were wonderful! My steaks were pretty thick so I browned well in butter, then moved to the oven at 300 for 10 min or so, which I made the sauce. Sauteed fresh mushrooms in butter, removed the mushrooms, then sauteed chopped garlic from the jar, and combined both with some water and beef bouillon granules for the sauce (added a bit more butter :). Next time I will put the steaks in the oven for only 5 min or lower the oven temp as they were more on the medium-well to well-done side, but still juicy, flavorful, tender, and delicious. My daughter scarfed it up and asked me to definitely make these again. Thanks so much for a 5 star recipe. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B L

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I have never purchased rib eye steaks before, but bought them because my grocery was having a really good sale on them. Not knowing what to do with them and no access to a grill right now, I decided on this recipe and was not disappointed. These steaks were so tender and tasty. My garlic got a little overdone, but that was my fault. Next time I will be sure to clean out my skillet and turn down the heat after browning my steaks. I browned them for about 5-6 mins. per side for them to be medium to medium-well. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I was looking for a recipe in order to pan fry the chuck eye steaks that I just bought at our local grocery store for $3.99/lb. (Chuck eye steaks are well marbled and are very similar to rib eyes, but much lower priced!) This recipe did the trick. I used Penzeys Chicago Steak Seasoning instead of the salt and pepper to season the steaks and it was out of this world. This recipe is a great alternative to grilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Stoner Moorhead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
These ribeyes were good, and I think the mushrooms added a really nice flavor. As long as you have a good cut of meat, these will turn out to be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hamilton, New York, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Good way to cook the steaks, but the mushroom/garlic did not turn out well. As sonther reviewer stated, the burnt garlic taste hurts the experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alyson
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Delishish! The only changes I made were I used jarred mushrooms and minced garlic. Soo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Hammondsport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States