Garlic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
For richer potatos, increase butter to 1/2 cup, use half 'n half instead of milk, or use milk, but add 1/4 cup of sour cream. ALWAYS melt & mix butter in potatoes first, as this will coat them, and prevent the release of starches that makes mashed potatos goopy sometimes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
My clan ate these up without 1 single complaint (RARE). I boiled the garlic cloves (3) in the potato water and then just mashed them up (with the hand mixer) along with all of the other ingredients. I did add more milk (skim), butter & white pepper. Thanks Lorna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
Yum! I took someone's advice and boiled the cloves whole with the potatoes. It made them nice and soft so that I could just beat everything with the electric mixer at the same time. I also added a little bit of garlic salt as I was mixing and I omitted the sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2000
I made these potatoes even creamier by substituting fat-free sour cream for the milk. They were heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
Rich & creamy, my family loved these potatoes! I added sour cream and left out the sesame seeds. I also used minced garlic in a jar and it came out terrific! This is a keeper in our home. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANAIAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westlake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wellington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
Use an electric mixer for best consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
I love mashed potatoes and I usually make my own version that's very similar to this one. I replace the garlic with garlic oil that my hubby makes (chop up lots of garlic and fry it in veggie oil till golden). We put this in a lot of our asian dishes but it tastes especially good in mashed potatoes. I don't use the sesame seeds. Thanks Lorna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
Very good and very easy. I used half of the butter that the recipe called for and substituted fat-free sour cream for the other half. I will definetly make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
Delicious! Used half and half, margarine, and boiled potatoes with 4 cloves cut up garlic, then mashed it all together! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
The recipe was pretty good. For something a little different with color, add a little tumeric. This willl make the potatoes golden. Also, try spicy mustard and sour cream. A hint of white peppper always adds an interesting flavor. For spice lovers, a little sprinkle of cayanne pepper on top it a sure hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States