Garlic Mashed Potatoes with Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
this was a nice twist on traditional mashed potatoes.. i steamed my potatoes instead of boiling them and just threw the two cloves of garlic in with the onion that i diced up.. i used about a tablespoon and a half of margarine in place of the olive oil at the end and stirred in the sauteed onions, garlic, and bacon into the end product.. we're doing an italian version of bangers and mash tonight (hot italian sausage, red/green bell peppers, and onions) so this will be a nice healthy alternative to the regular mashed potatoes.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Good way to hide eggplant since I couldn't really taste it and cut down on fat. I skipped the bacon and the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Did this got lunch today for my daughter who is almost 2. She loved it. I added carrots to mine and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabrita Edwards

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
So good! Great way to use a medium to small sized eggplant. I added milk and butter on the advice of other reviewers. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Love the taste of eggplant in the potatoes! Made and tasted per recipe... rated it 5 stars as is! Hubby likes creamy taters, so I did add a little butter and sour cream! Really didnt change the flavor but did change the texture, still a 5 star recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Goff Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
An idea to keep this vegan is to add nice, chopped olives at the end, and skip the salt in the potato water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This recipe was an excellent way to use the eggplant I got in my organic food box delivery this week, along with organic potatoes. I'm not really a fan of eggplant, but I didn't want to waste it. I loved the dish. I only used 1 slice of bacon and I diced the onions before cooking them. I added the cooked bacon and onion into the eggplant, potato mixture before I mashed it. I didn't add the olive oil called for when I mashed, I added some mayonnaise, an old family tradition. My husband loved this dish, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
These were pretty good, I really enjoyed having the eggplant in the potatoes. I had no idea what to expect and it gave it really sophisticated flavor. I think this is an awesome idea, works great if you want to sneak some veggies into dinner. If I made these again I would add milk and butter to make it creamy but as far as flavor goes I don't think it needs it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meganc1255

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
That sounds great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States