Garlic Mashed Potatoes and Beef Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This was pretty good. I made it with frozen mixed veggies (carrots, corn, peas, string beans) instead of broccoli and cauliflower, tasted much better that way. Didn't use as much water and milk. I made mashed potatoes according to package directions along with 1/2 can of the soup. Also sauteed 1/2 an onion along with the ground beef for added flavor and melted a sprinkle of shredded cheddar over the top right at the end. Also, be sure to season your ground beef with salt, pepper, and garlic powder while cooking so the base of your bake doesn't taste bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
So the key to making this yummy is simple, make your own homemade Cream of Mushroom soup, add whatever veggies you want straight to the ground beef and cook them all up together good, add onions, use real mashed taters, make too much so that you have to use a 9x13 pan... bake it for 10 min add cheese and bake for another 7 and you come up with yumminess! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This turned out better than what I thought it would. There didn't seem to be enough potato for the soup mixture, but the potato/soup did give the dish a nice sauce. Will make again, but probably with more potato, and more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nelson, Nelson-Marlborough, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I came upon this recipe from searching for ingredients I needed to use up. Normally I don't like to use canned soups, but I thought I'd give this one a try. I added onion and garlic to the beef and flavored it with Lawry's salt, Mrs. Dash garlic and herb seasoning, black pepper and hot sauce. I microwaved some fresh broccoli and used that instead of the mixed veg bag, but I bet lots of different veggies would be great. I made homemade mashed potatoes but missed the instructions that called for using half the soup can in the meat and the other in the potatoes, so I put all in the meat - glad I did since the meat would have been drier had I followed the instructions. Used an 11 inch square stoneware baking pan and was just the right size. I added some cheddar over the meat/under the potatoes and baked the dish covered. It turned out really well! Real stick-in-the-ribs-meat-n-potato casserole. The cheese really wasn't necessary since the dish is so rich (but I liked it anyway). If this makes 4 servings, they are very large servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Big hit it my family! We used venison burger and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Newport, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I was not very impressed with this recipe as there was way too much liquid, two cups of water was not necessary. You couldn't "scoop"the potato mixture, it was more like potato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Good base, but needs some work I used ground turkey(20 oz), it was what I had. I followed other reviewer suggestions and used frozen mixed veggies (carrots, peas, corn, and green beans). I also,made my own mashed potatoes (leftovers would work awesome). I sauted an onion with the turkey and added salt. Pepper, and garlic powder to taste. I added the veggies, the whole can of cream of mushroom soup (again,what I. Had), 1/3 can water and the worchestershire sauce and cooked about 5 minutes more, med heat. Then I topped it with my mashed potatoes. Baked for 30 mins on 350* and tipped with cheddar cheese for last 10 min. It came out sooo good, hit the spot on a cold washington day!,thanks to all the other reviewers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnetteRose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sedro Woolley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BILLIEBEE3
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This was good, I used real mashed potatoes and since I only had regular mushroom soup, I added a clove of garlic to the meat when it was cooking. I steamed the vegetables first and I also added an onion and s&p. The kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BILLIEBEE3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
When I made this it was quite runny. Maybe less water and it would have been ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
It was good, but needs seasoning badly. It is a pretty easy and quick recipe which is nice for busy work days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Susanville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States