Garlic Mashed Potatoes and Beef Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
The other raters were RIGHT! THis was soupy...I didn't add all the liquid noted in the recipe and it was still soupy going on, but was gone by the end of baking (I baked it a bit longer than suggested). Overall, this was good, but we think it could use a bit more flaver - perhaps in the potatoes (I made mine homemade). I think - my theory - is that the soup was rather diluted because of all the liquid..I would do less lliquid and more soup! Or, I would have used instant - flavored - mashed potatoes. On a side note - i used ground turkey and browned it with some garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim AndJoelle Haseley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This is not cooking. This is heating up packaged . There isn't a single fresh ingredient in this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
So after reading some of the negative comments on this one I figured I would help it out and make it my first review. Even though both my wife and I felt that is was "missing something," (more on that in a second) I actually loved this recipe. It is what it claims to be.. a hearty baked meat-n-taters dish. I am not a pro-chef, I'm a stay at home dad and I'm not afraid to admit I use canned soup. For my time and money it's a great way to add flavor and creaminess. I was out of 'shroom so I used celery... (too bland, use the mushroom.) Unlike other reviewers, I had no consistency issues with this one either. Everything was just as moist or dry as it was supposed to be. I added a few cloves of garlic, some chopped onion and a good helping of s&p to the ground beef. The veggies were a bag of frozen "California mix" (thawed in the microwave) as called for, which was a good mix for this recipe. Overall I will modify it a little to add some more zip next time, but I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This "version" of Shepherd's pie, is actually a version of COTTAGE pie. Any one who cooks aught to know that if you use beef it is cottage, if you use lamb/sheep it is shepherd's. Also, not a fan of anything that uses canned soup, including... canned soup. Yuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
wasn't very tasty...recipe is "similar" to Shepards pie,which is a very tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I came upon this recipe from searching for ingredients I needed to use up. Normally I don't like to use canned soups, but I thought I'd give this one a try. I added onion and garlic to the beef and flavored it with Lawry's salt, Mrs. Dash garlic and herb seasoning, black pepper and hot sauce. I microwaved some fresh broccoli and used that instead of the mixed veg bag, but I bet lots of different veggies would be great. I made homemade mashed potatoes but missed the instructions that called for using half the soup can in the meat and the other in the potatoes, so I put all in the meat - glad I did since the meat would have been drier had I followed the instructions. Used an 11 inch square stoneware baking pan and was just the right size. I added some cheddar over the meat/under the potatoes and baked the dish covered. It turned out really well! Real stick-in-the-ribs-meat-n-potato casserole. The cheese really wasn't necessary since the dish is so rich (but I liked it anyway). If this makes 4 servings, they are very large servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingSparta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
So the key to making this yummy is simple, make your own homemade Cream of Mushroom soup, add whatever veggies you want straight to the ground beef and cook them all up together good, add onions, use real mashed taters, make too much so that you have to use a 9x13 pan... bake it for 10 min add cheese and bake for another 7 and you come up with yumminess! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States