Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
These were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
My New favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maili

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Morgan City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Wonderful - apart from scaling down to 6 servings! the only change I made was I used Asiago cheese instead of Romano. I prefer these 'smashed' instead of 'mashed'. Other garlic mashed potato recipes on here tend to be gluey. Will definitely make again and company loved them. 45 minutes seems a long time for potatoes to cook - mine were ready at about 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
The only change I made was to roast the garlic in the oven at 350 degrees for 15 or so minutes before putting it in the potatoes. Goodness, this is my default Mashed Potatoes Recipe for life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This was a huge hit at a dinner party I had with friends and family! I paired it with baked pork chop recipe from this site that got rave reviews and everyone said the meal was so home cooked and delicious that they felt like it was Thanksgiving! I was told this was a keeper and that from now on when someone wants mashed potatoes their going to call me! I made this as is, no changes except to lower from 100 servings to 12. There were no potatoes left and the gravy sauce from the baked pork chops went well with the mashed potatoes. Great job on this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUPE78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
FANTASTIC! I put a little more garlic in than suggested when paring down to 6 servings. These mashed potatoes are a HUGE hit with my family! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Greenwich, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Like almost everyone else, I didn't need to cook for 100 (wondering how often home cooks make mashed potatoes for 100...? But I digress). I used 3lbs potatoes and 4 tablespoons (1/2 a stick) of butter, plus a few splashes of milk and 2 spoon-fulls of fat free sour cream to make up for the lack of butter... Just couldn't bring myself to add that much butter! I used a whole head of roasted garlic and then added a spoon-full of minced garlic too. I've never been a huge fan of garlic mash because I'm a purist and love plain ol' mashed taters, but the BF requested garlic. It was a good call on his part - these were DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
These are simply perfect. So much flavor. A hit with everyone in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I found this reciepe ok. Nothing out of this world. Added some chicken stock to make it smoother. I found the cheese to be overwhelming. I had to serve with gravy, or else it would have been mediocre.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
It was a good base recipe, but I made a lot of changes. Cut it down to 6 servings. I used minced garlic and browned it lightly in the butter before adding to the mashed potatoes- I actually ended up adding more garlic to get the taste I wanted. Also added some pepper and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States