Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
It was a good base recipe, but I made a lot of changes. Cut it down to 6 servings. I used minced garlic and browned it lightly in the butter before adding to the mashed potatoes- I actually ended up adding more garlic to get the taste I wanted. Also added some pepper and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Ok so I took a fellow reviewer's advice and roasted the garlic beforehand. I wanted to eat the garlic plain when it came out of the oven! Just wrapped a few cloves in aluminum foil w/olive oil + salt and baked for about 30 minutes. They smelled amazing! These potatoes were perfect, the only thing I changed was I added about a 1/2 cup of milk (serving 5). I mustn't have added enough butter because the potatoes weren't creamy so I added the milk and they came together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I love mashed potatoes and garlic so I thought these would be good. These were the worst I have had... sorry wont make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Peay Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
excellent and easy to move. I added more butter & more oregano
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I was pretty disappointed, especially given all the rave reviews. First, who starts off a recipe with 100 servings?? I have to wonder how accurate it is when I scale it down to 1 or 2. Obviously cooking time had to be adjusted; I guessed at 15 minutes for 1/2 lb of potatoes, which seems to have worked. I'm a garlic lover, but in the end it just wasn't anything special. Pretty enough, but I like my old standard recipe better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Tasty! I took others' advice & roasted the garlic first by wrapping in tin foil with olive oil & baking for 45 minutes. Reducing to 10 servings makes plenty for a 6 person meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I roasted the garlic while the potatoes were cooking. Turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Easy, simple but delicious! I scaled it down to about 2 lbs small potatoes, 2 Tbsp butter and I grated one large clove of garlic. I added a splash of milk and some pepper. Because my potatoes were small, cooking tome was only about 30 minutes. I wasn't sure I would like oregano in this, but it worked! Chives, rosemary or other herbs would also be a nice twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I used less garlic, roasted with olive oil in foil in oven for 30 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diva Nay
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Oh wow!!! I loved these potatoes. I plan on doing them for a potlock at church on Sunday! Absolutely delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diva Nay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States