Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Like almost everyone else, I didn't need to cook for 100 (wondering how often home cooks make mashed potatoes for 100...? But I digress). I used 3lbs potatoes and 4 tablespoons (1/2 a stick) of butter, plus a few splashes of milk and 2 spoon-fulls of fat free sour cream to make up for the lack of butter... Just couldn't bring myself to add that much butter! I used a whole head of roasted garlic and then added a spoon-full of minced garlic too. I've never been a huge fan of garlic mash because I'm a purist and love plain ol' mashed taters, but the BF requested garlic. It was a good call on his part - these were DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
These are simply perfect. So much flavor. A hit with everyone in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I found this reciepe ok. Nothing out of this world. Added some chicken stock to make it smoother. I found the cheese to be overwhelming. I had to serve with gravy, or else it would have been mediocre.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
It was a good base recipe, but I made a lot of changes. Cut it down to 6 servings. I used minced garlic and browned it lightly in the butter before adding to the mashed potatoes- I actually ended up adding more garlic to get the taste I wanted. Also added some pepper and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Ok so I took a fellow reviewer's advice and roasted the garlic beforehand. I wanted to eat the garlic plain when it came out of the oven! Just wrapped a few cloves in aluminum foil w/olive oil + salt and baked for about 30 minutes. They smelled amazing! These potatoes were perfect, the only thing I changed was I added about a 1/2 cup of milk (serving 5). I mustn't have added enough butter because the potatoes weren't creamy so I added the milk and they came together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I love mashed potatoes and garlic so I thought these would be good. These were the worst I have had... sorry wont make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Peay Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
excellent and easy to move. I added more butter & more oregano
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I was pretty disappointed, especially given all the rave reviews. First, who starts off a recipe with 100 servings?? I have to wonder how accurate it is when I scale it down to 1 or 2. Obviously cooking time had to be adjusted; I guessed at 15 minutes for 1/2 lb of potatoes, which seems to have worked. I'm a garlic lover, but in the end it just wasn't anything special. Pretty enough, but I like my old standard recipe better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Tasty! I took others' advice & roasted the garlic first by wrapping in tin foil with olive oil & baking for 45 minutes. Reducing to 10 servings makes plenty for a 6 person meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I roasted the garlic while the potatoes were cooking. Turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States