Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chaffee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Volo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Mashed potatoes always have been a mystery to me. Usually, mine end up gluey, which has made me dislike mixers and caused me to say things like, "How about rice?." But I tried this recipe anyway, and it lives up to its ratings. I didn't roast my garlic; I just tossed it in. I did use a quarter-stick of butter and a hand masher. I used whatever potatoes that were on hand: some red and some brown but maybe mostly red. Dinner was delayed so the potatoes boiled longer than usual, so I anticipated comments about whether I would be hanging wallpaper after dinner. Amazingly, these potatoes turned out delicious! The extra cooking time made the potato skins disappear into the mash. That never happened before. The oregano is the secret flavor. These potatoes were so good that, even if I had managed to make glue, I would have enjoyed the smell of the room in which I later hung wallpaper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
My fiance and I love garlic mashed potatoes and this is our go-to recipe. We do reduce the butter a bit and add a bit of milk. We also add ground black pepper for some spice and increase the garlic--we love garlic!! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
May never make mashed potatoes any other way again! These came out great! Thanks....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Absolutely delicious. Family went crazy over these mashed potatoes. Was told to make them again soon and often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Amazing. Tasted better than I even expected. Does not taste homemade. I found it hard to scale down this recipe because the calculator gives you all measurements in pounds, even for a few people. But I guessed on the measurements an guess I got close because it was simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baton Rouge Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Fantastic, easy, restaurant- worthy. That's what I think of these mashed potatoes! I made 5 servings, cut the potatoes into even- sized chunks, and they were done after about 25 minutes. My parents thought these were too garlicky, but I thought it was perfect. Later I realized that I forgot to add the cheese! Maybe it would have been creamier and less garlic-tasting if i had included it. I used a potato masher- I think this gives it a country-style texture. I'm definitely saving this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
The absolute BEST mashed potato recipe I have ever come across. I scale it down to 10 servings, and roast the garlic first (a must in my opinion!). Turns out fantastic every single time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Very good. I wouldn't add more than the amount of cheese that it calls for or it would be too much. It tasted fantastic the first day and tasted rather good when reheated, but not as fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
These are good but I HAD to add some milk as they would have been really dry with a strange texture. The flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States