Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
These turned out great. Scaled the recipe down to 12 servings for Thanksgiving dinner. I should have added more garlic believe it or not but these were still great! They turned out creamy and delicious! I did follow the advice of other reviews and roasted the garlic first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tashwitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vandalia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This is the best mashed potatoes ever! I made it at school for cooking class, and my partner and I loved it! It was creamy, no need to use gravy and it was perfectly mushed, which tasted GREAT! If there were less herbs, it would have been better! I prefer food with herbs. If we peeled the red potatoes, it would have been PERFECT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Of all the thousands of mashed potato recipes out there, this is my favorite, and believe me, I have tried a lot of them. It's so simple and it always turns out great. I have used only this recipe for the past year and me and my boyfriend have not got sick of it yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ridethebeanie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Millington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Did not change a thing. This recipe was a big hit in my family. Thank you for sharing. This will be a keeper in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyBird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Well, the secret is out and this definitely is a great recipe for garlic mashed potatoes! I was a bit skeptical because there was no milk but I gave it a try and am glad I did. This was a nice departure from traditional mashed potatoes. I cut this back to 2 servings for a pound of red skin potatoes and used a combination of Parmesan and Romano cheeses. Thanks for sharing AUSTAD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I made these last night, cutting the servings to 6. I think these are the healthiest, garlic mashed potatoes out there. Very tasty, they go great with meatloaf. I will probably make these for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Delicious! Listened to the reviews and boiled the garlic with the potatoes for a couple minutes, it definitely helped soften the garlic and made it more enjoyable to eat. My in-laws weren't crazy about the oregano kick but I was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaelaRae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Incredibly simple and delicious. I added some basil leaves which gives some freshness to the rich starch and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I make garlic mashed potatoes all the time because they are requested from me but this just doesn't come out right for me at all. I don't know what it is but I tried doing it exactly the first time and no dice!! Sorry!! I did try this with roasted garlic and it's much better and I also put sliced garlic in with the potatoes to cook and it was much better. As far as the butter going in first, I always melt my butter in the milk and add it together and it turns out every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
My family loved this recipe. Only suggestion my husband had was maybe a little milk. And I thought possibly some bacon pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States