Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
A pot full of heaven! This recipe is incredibly easy & tasty, and hard to mess up. A wonderful surprise from very little effort! My house smelled like an italian restaurant (thanks to the roasted garlic) and this dish was restaurant quality! I scaled down to 2.5# red potatoes, scrubed and cubed. Boiled ~ 20mins. 1 cup italian cheese (all I had!), 1 stick butter, salt & pepper, and 4 cloves of roasted garlic (thanks to other reviewers -- smashed garlic to remove skins. salt & pepper. drizzle olive oil. wrapped up in foil. baked for 30 minutes. minced into potatoes). Although next time I think I'll use less garlic (hubby is not a garlic fan at all). I don't think you need to measure the ingredients at all, toss in some cheese, butter, s&p, and garlic to your liking. ALSO.. these are not meant to be creamy and smooth like regular mashed potatoes. Chunky is better. Don't add milk! You're going in the wrong direction from the intended recipe. I promise it's wonderful the way it's written! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerra Kullman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Added spinach and cut down on cheeses delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Perfectly ideal. For the taste of our family, I cut back the garlic and salt slightly and they were still flavorful and delicious. Love them and will use this as my go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I make this for every family gathering, because I am always asked to. It is delicious and so easy. I used roasted garlic which made it taste even better. You can make the garlic a day ahead since it takes a while in the oven. Also omitted the oregano. For 5lbs of potatoes i used the below for garlic, but you can't go wrong with more... 1 elephant garlic or 10 cloves Preheat oven to 400 degrees F Arrange heads of garlic on a baking sheet. wrap in foil. Sprinkle garlic with olive oil and salt. Bake for 40 minutes to 1 hour, when the garlic is soft and squeezable, it is ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spinto
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Fabulous! Made this to go along with lobster for a family gathering and there wasn't a bite left! I adjusted it for 10 servings and used 3 sticks of butter. I roasted a full head of garlic by peeling each clove and drizzling some olive oil over it then wrapping in foil with small vent at top as another reviewer suggested. It was absolutely perfect and so so tasty. A hit. Will be making this one a lot! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I also used roasted garlic & scaled down the amount of butter for a 10 serving recipe. I added a bit of heavy cream and followed the authors suggestion of ensuring the butter is well mixed prior to adding the cream. I think I may have slightly over mixed it because it came out a little denser than I like. Although I'm always super careful not to over mix my potatoes, so I'm not sure if it was the cream. I'm making it again tonight so I will try it without the cream and see what happens. Everyone loved them the 1st time (I'm my worst critic!) though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clover Ericson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
This recipe was phenomenal, and easy (as mashed potatoes should be). I would recommend this for anyone. The Romano cheese and garlic is a great flavor combination for this side. For a side note, the texture may not be what you expect, but they are very good nonetheless - don't let that throw you off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Tried this with a few sweet potatoes. So tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshFox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Great tasting and simple!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Greate recipe. I roast the garlic and cut the oregano to 1 tsp per 5 lbs of potatoes. They turn out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States