Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
The recipe calculator worked beautifully to reduce to 3 servings! Used red skinned potatos. Saved time by microwaving the quartered potatoes 10 min on high (for 1.5 lbs potatos). Cut the butter in half and left the salt out, and they were still delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
we enjoyed these potatoes with the following modifications.. i know the submitter said not to use margarine, but you have to make use of what you have on hand.. i scaled this down to 3 servings and used half red potatoes/half russets, 3 T of margarine, about 1/4 cup of greek yogurt, a splash of unsweetened almond milk, 1.5 T of some kind of parm/romano/asiago blend by kraft, half a tsp of italian seasoning for the oregano, and added 3/4 tsp of pepper.. i left the salt and garlic amounts the same, but made sure to sautee the garlic first as i didn't think raw garlic would taste right in the mashed potatoes.. ty for allowing us to try something different
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
This recipe was very easy to make, and delicious! I'm a flavor lover so I will be doubling the raw garlic, oregano, and Romano cheese in the next batch. I did however find that you may need a little extra butter to make the potatoes a little more creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJ Cuzzacrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Please rate the recipe on how it is as written!!! Not how it is with the changes you make!!! As written, the garlic is too pungent and will most likely over-power whatever you are serving it with. This is a side. It's NOT supposed to take center-stage flavor-wise. And a lot of people do not like getting a larger chunk of raw garlic in a bite. I give it a 2 as written. BUT following the advice of several other reviews, I added the garlic to the potatoes 5 minutes after the water starts to boil. It mellows the 'bite' of the garlic and the softer garlic then blends into the potatoes better. This step is huge and makes it 4 to 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel Niemann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
These creamy garlic masked potatoes were huge hit at our dinner table! I'll definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3sons1beagle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Amazing! Follow the advice and use butter instead of margarine. I didn't have romano so I just used grated parmesan and it was still one of the better mashed potatoes I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
A pot full of heaven! This recipe is incredibly easy & tasty, and hard to mess up. A wonderful surprise from very little effort! My house smelled like an italian restaurant (thanks to the roasted garlic) and this dish was restaurant quality! I scaled down to 2.5# red potatoes, scrubed and cubed. Boiled ~ 20mins. 1 cup italian cheese (all I had!), 1 stick butter, salt & pepper, and 4 cloves of roasted garlic (thanks to other reviewers -- smashed garlic to remove skins. salt & pepper. drizzle olive oil. wrapped up in foil. baked for 30 minutes. minced into potatoes). Although next time I think I'll use less garlic (hubby is not a garlic fan at all). I don't think you need to measure the ingredients at all, toss in some cheese, butter, s&p, and garlic to your liking. ALSO.. these are not meant to be creamy and smooth like regular mashed potatoes. Chunky is better. Don't add milk! You're going in the wrong direction from the intended recipe. I promise it's wonderful the way it's written! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerra Kullman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
50 POTATOES WOW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Added spinach and cut down on cheeses delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Perfectly ideal. For the taste of our family, I cut back the garlic and salt slightly and they were still flavorful and delicious. Love them and will use this as my go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States