Garlic Mashed Potatoes In The Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I made these for our Thanksgiving in September gathering and well, let's just say.....what is not to like? You obviously don't make these if you are counting calories - you do make them if you are looking for a great make ahead, full of flavor, delicious side dish to any special meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I used reduced fat cream cheese and reduced fat sour cream. I did also add a good amount of fresh snipped chives. I served these with salisbury steak--the family ate almost the whole thing in one sitting. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This the perfect way to have the mashed potatoes done ahead of time for Thanksgiving!!! LOVE the creamy, rich flavor. Will definitely make this again. Thank you~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I followed the recipe pretty much exactly as written and used the towel under the lid trick, but after putting these into the crock pot, they turned to thick soup. Delicious soup, but still soup. No one complained, and in fact, they all complimented me on how delicious they were. The only deviations I made from the recipe was to mash the potatoes with a manual potato masher instead of whipping with an electric mixer, so they were more chunky than whipped. Plus, I prepared the potatoes the night before Christmas and refrigerated them overnight. Maybe that is where the excess moisture came from. This is a total winner taste-wise as a mashed potato recipe, so I'll continue to work with it. The benefit of last minute prep prevention is worth further experimentation with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Perfect for Thanksgiving. I used yellow potatoes instead of red,and I should not have. Next time I will use the red, or a firmer potato. They came out a little runny because they just weren't firm enough.Overall the dish was really good and a huge stress reliever because I didn't have to boil/mash the potatoes and try to get the turkey out all at the same time. I will make them again for next Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOSSIER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Eagle, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Christmas Dinner usual
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Easy to follow and really, really creamy. Everyone at Thanksgiving and Christmas dinner gobbled these down. Try it...you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I used this recipe in 2013 for Thanksgiving, trying to make my dinner-making easier for me. It was a HUGE help and everyone absolutely RAVED about the potatoes! Remember the paper-towel trick, though. It made the day simpler and yielded fantastic-tasting mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
i used 5 lb of organic Yukon gold and prepared the day before. it was a win!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miz24824

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kaaawa, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This is a good recipe for mashed potatoes but I made a few changes. I used the low fat cream cheese and fat free sour cream to save some calories. Make sure your cream cheese is room temperature and cut it up into chunks which makes it easier to mash into the potatoes. I used vegetable broth to make this dish vegetarian and only ended up using 3/4 cup (half the amount in the recipe). I also only used my manual potato masher and it worked fine. For the butter I only used 1/4 cup and cut it in pats to put on top of the potatoes in the crockpot. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celia Forrester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States