Garlic Mashed Potatoes In The Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I used reduced fat cream cheese and reduced fat sour cream. I did also add a good amount of fresh snipped chives. I served these with salisbury steak--the family ate almost the whole thing in one sitting. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I made these for our Thanksgiving in September gathering and well, let's just say.....what is not to like? You obviously don't make these if you are counting calories - you do make them if you are looking for a great make ahead, full of flavor, delicious side dish to any special meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This the perfect way to have the mashed potatoes done ahead of time for Thanksgiving!!! LOVE the creamy, rich flavor. Will definitely make this again. Thank you~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I have been making a version of these potatoes for years. I use french onion soup dip instead of sour cream and do not add chicken broth or so much butter (just a few pats on top of potatoes when they get baked). I also have never tried them in the crock pot. I just make them ahead and put them in the oven with the rest of the side dishes. I have also made them frequently without the cream cheese and just added some milk to make them creamier and somewhat healthier. If you have the room in your oven, I don't know why you'd dirty another dish to put them in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Perfect for Thanksgiving. I used yellow potatoes instead of red,and I should not have. Next time I will use the red, or a firmer potato. They came out a little runny because they just weren't firm enough.Overall the dish was really good and a huge stress reliever because I didn't have to boil/mash the potatoes and try to get the turkey out all at the same time. I will make them again for next Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOSSIER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Eagle, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I followed the recipe pretty much exactly as written and used the towel under the lid trick, but after putting these into the crock pot, they turned to thick soup. Delicious soup, but still soup. No one complained, and in fact, they all complimented me on how delicious they were. The only deviations I made from the recipe was to mash the potatoes with a manual potato masher instead of whipping with an electric mixer, so they were more chunky than whipped. Plus, I prepared the potatoes the night before Christmas and refrigerated them overnight. Maybe that is where the excess moisture came from. This is a total winner taste-wise as a mashed potato recipe, so I'll continue to work with it. The benefit of last minute prep prevention is worth further experimentation with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I like making a big batch of mashed potatoes like this because I freeze some of them in qt sized freezer bags. Thaw out a bag, put in a sauce pot over a very low flame and stir a few times and you would think they were just made. I also add a couple of bay leaves and black pepper to the salted water when boiling them. I scrub mine well and leave the skins on before cutting and boiling then mash with a hand masher because I like chunky skin on mashed potatoes. Also I swap out the chicken broth and use half and half. I know, rich but what the heck, very comforting and we don't eat them every day. Whenever there is a family get together I always get asked to bring "your" mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Made this tonight, and it turned out pretty good. You can taste the cream cheese and sour cream, which makes it yummy. I only added 1 cup of chicken broth and doubled the butter, I put it back on the stove top on low heat after I used the electric mixer, for about 30 minutes, and it turned out the perfect consistency to go alongside our meatloaf :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States