Garlic Mashed Potatoes In The Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
The cream cheese is just too much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tannya Irene Lepley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Excellent way to deal with the stresses of holiday meals. Family loved them, even reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I added more garlic; but other than that I followed recipe to a tee; very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by di19681

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Very good recipe. I made it for Thanksgiving and it went over well with my company. However, I didn't need to throw the potatoes in a slow cooker as my cooking plans changed and a holding pot wasn't necessary. Now, I have a question. Why do people have to leave such cranky reviews about a good recipe that they might not have even tried?? The poor reviews really knocked the rating down unnecessarily, and I'm really sick of reading snide, "know-it'all" reviews wherever I go on the internet. This recipe was intended for those who had too much cooking to do and needed a way to make it ahead without having to reheat the dish. Who cares if I have to wash something extra? If a recipe doesn't appeal to you, please just move on to something that does without ruining it for those who might want to try it. This was a wonderful idea and a good recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This is a good recipe for mashed potatoes but I made a few changes. I used the low fat cream cheese and fat free sour cream to save some calories. Make sure your cream cheese is room temperature and cut it up into chunks which makes it easier to mash into the potatoes. I used vegetable broth to make this dish vegetarian and only ended up using 3/4 cup (half the amount in the recipe). I also only used my manual potato masher and it worked fine. For the butter I only used 1/4 cup and cut it in pats to put on top of the potatoes in the crockpot. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celia Forrester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Meh. Not bad but definitely not the best mashed potatoes I've ever made (hubs agrees). I much prefer BWAYE's slow cooker mashed potatoes. Even after adding a LOT of s&p, these were super bland and had absolutely no garlic flavor. I think I'll stick with our favorite recipe from now on. Thanks anyways Alley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Made mashed potatoes for the first time ever using this recipe for our thanksgiving dinner. Had to make them the day before and then take them to my mom's so the slow cooker worked out perfectly. Some other comments made me worry about getting too watery so I only used half the chicken broth figuring I can add more the next day if needed, but it wasn't needed. I only cooked for about 2 hrs the day they were made then day of high for an hour and low for an hour, adding the melted butter after turning to low. Good news was they turned out great, bad news is now its my job every thanksgiving from here on out. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I made my usual make ahead Sour Cream Refrigerator Mashed Potatoes (from allrecipes.com), which is very similar to this, but did the slow cooker thing per this recipe. Somehow only managed to get in slow cooker 2 hours ahead but it needed 3 hours. Will definitely keep this in my Recipe Box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Waitsburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
i used 5 lb of organic Yukon gold and prepared the day before. it was a win!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miz24824

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kaaawa, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I used this recipe in 2013 for Thanksgiving, trying to make my dinner-making easier for me. It was a HUGE help and everyone absolutely RAVED about the potatoes! Remember the paper-towel trick, though. It made the day simpler and yielded fantastic-tasting mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States